Quick and Easy Thai Style Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This "Quick and Easy Thai Style Coleslaw" recipe was delicious. I used freshly-chopped summer cabbage and freshly-grated carrot (instead of coleslaw mix) to make mine. I am convinced that different cooks are using the term RICE WINE VINEGAR to mean different things. I assumed the term meant MIRIN (and not RICE VINEGAR which is made from rice wine). Mirin is much milder than rice vinegar and slightly sweet. I cut the honey by half since we don't eat many sweet foods in our home and found that it was still more than sweet enough for our tastes. Thank you TOPROCKMAN for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is exactly what I was looking for! I didn't change a thing to the recipe, it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Just okay. Needs some onion or something. I added chili garlic sauce, but it still needed something. I also only used maybe 1/2 of the dressing. Definitely recommend adding a little at a time to your liking, or else it's drowning in dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made dressing as prescribed with a small addition of 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes. Cabbage and grated carrots were substituted for the vegetable mix. Peanuts (salted) were left in their purchased state. I added all dressing to salad mix, but after marinating for 15 minutes, drained dressing from salad thus leaving a small amount of dressing. Just prior to serving (at a potluck) I added about 3 ounces of shrimp. Attendees requested recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINEDENYER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is a really good recipe and easy to customize to suit your taste. I made it many times in the past two years. My usual tweak: I do not buy fish sauce just for this recipe - substitute with soy sauce; no funky taste, and if you want the slaw taste more salty, just add a little more soy sauce. I do not use salt at all in this. If no honey, can use brown sugar; if no peanuts, I use sesame seeds. If no lime juice, I use lemon juice. Every time it comes out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Made this exactly as instructed (how else can you know) and it was fantastic. Will make again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dekangaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
1-21-12: Very good, but not unusual coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Super easy. I replaced one of the tablespoons of honey with soy sauce. One of the tablespoons of sesame oil I replaced with sesame oil with chili to give it some kick. I added sesame seeds instead of peanuts and grated fresh ginger in it. I know you shouldn't rate unless you stick to the recipe, but it's a great base and is easy to tweak to your tastes. I made it to use on Korean BBQ tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARK89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Pretty tasty, but there's way too much rice wine vinegar in my opinion. Start out with 2Tbsp and keep adding as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I liked this but found the lime juise a bit over powering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States