Quick and Easy Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
A TREMENDOUS HIT!! I made 2 batches and it wasn't enough. Everybody asked me for the recipe. I had to doctor the recipe. Doing it the way it is written here it basically tastes like cream cheese. Very, very bland and tasteless. I had to tinker with it and add more salsa and more taco seasoning to get it to taste like taco and then even more to give it a bite. If you like it hotter you will need to add some hot sauce. It is easy to make but would recommend you zapping the cream cheese in the microwave for a bit to soften it up. It doesn't mix well just room temp softened. I used wheat crackers to serve it on just as a test and everybody liked that better than tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Quick, Easy, Yummy! Added 8 oz Sour Cream, Doubled Salsa, 1/2 tspn Taco Seasoning, Increased amount of cheese to about 10 oz. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a good base to start, but I think people will adjust this a lot according to their own tastes...some like it spicy and some like it mild. I adjusted with more taco seasoning and salsa. Lots of options, but an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I read all of the reviews, and one thing I noticed was how boring it looked (not tasted). So, just to make it pretty, I did not mix the salsa in with the cream cheese. I put in on top, then the cheddar, and I put green onion on top (personal preference). I don't like olives so I didn't add, but it would look nice. Bottom line- I made this for an outing. The only problem is, I have dipped into it at least 6-7 times. I am going to have to make another one to take out, as by the end of the evening, I am pretty sure this one will be at least half gone. Easy and yummy. I did follow one suggestion and double everything, but used one 8oz cr. cheese and one 8oz sour cream. I used a little more taco seasoning, but did it to taste. I can't believe I have been buying this at the store for BIG bucks, and now I can make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thor, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pinetop, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My recipe is similar, 2 - 8oz pkg cream cheese, 16 - oz sour cream, 1 pkg taco seasoning, 1 bottle ortega taco sauce (can sub. salsa or picante sauce, 1 - 1-1/2c. Mix and spread in cake pan or on large platter. Top with shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes and green, red, yellow, and orange peppers, black olives, jalapenos, and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This dip is so simple and easy. I doubled it for a large party and it was a big hit. I did stir in some cheddar into the creamcheese just for some color. I topped it with sliced black olives and cheddar again just for presentation and color, served it with triscuits and it was a fast, easy and simple dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I've been making a very similar taco dip for years. The only difference is I add an 8 ounce container of sour cream. I also just spread the salsa on top, then the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Thanks for the dip! I make one similar to this but I use sour cream, salsa, onions, peppers, salt, shredded cheese. I am going to try yours now, we'll see which I like better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is so easy and so good. I used hot and spicy taco seasoning mix, more hot salsa and topped with black olives. Next time I'm going to add green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States