Quick and Easy Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Well, I almost always cook from scratch, but let me tell you, this was terrific! Could not be easier, with a nice balance of flavors. Kids will like it because of taco seasoning influence. I think there's an error in the recipe, though. "Instant" rice should not take 20 minutes to cook as the recipe calls for; about 7 minutes is right. I think you could make this with regular rice and follow the recipe that calls for 20 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I chose this recipe to add a photo to faceless recipes for the Allrecipes Allstars group. If looking for rice like one would get at a Mexican restaurant, this is pretty close. My only problem was it was a tad dry. I ended up adding about tsp. of vegetable oil at the end which helped. I didn't have V8, so I found a subtitute to do 1/2 tomato sauce and 1/2 water and it tasted very similar. I made broth from broth paste, so I could control the sodium. I made 1/2 recipe and it made about 4 servings. At the end I added some frozen defrosted peas and carrots for color and texture. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This recipe was great! despite the urge that i had to add beans, (because there is room for experimenting with other ingredients) I did not. I basically stuck to the recipe, with the exception of the cayenne, chili powder and splash of hot sauce that I added for extra spice. It was very quick, and really delicious, i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Curtice, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I didn't have V8 so I used salsa, and added a can of green chilies. It turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was really easy and had a great flavor. I used 1/2 cup Rotel tomatoes instead of the V8 juice just for a little kick!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrellee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and my husband loved it! He has tried many times to fix spanish rice but it always came out bland. The only things I changed was: I diced up about a 1/4 cup of onion, 1/4 cup red bell, regular rice, and tomato sauce. All in all...DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
was delicious! I used brown rice though and added some green chili for some extra spice! flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I thought it was great. I didn't have minute rice so I just had to cook it for about 20-35 minutes at the end. I also had to add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was easy and tasted great. Just what I was looking for tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very nice recipe! I used regular rice, 1 cup chicken broth to 1 cup enchilada sauce (no V8 juice available). Sauted conion and garlic. Added 1 c of rice and sauted a few minutes. Then sprinkled cumin and salt in the rice. Added to the boiling broth..cooked 22 min..You might go with 1 1/4 C of chicken and 3/4 cup of the enchilada sauce. Next time will sauté green peppers and and black beans..Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States