Quick and Easy Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
First time I made this I drained the beans. Second time, did not drain, liked them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Wow - this was easy and delicious too, I might add. I am out of canned refried beans and wanted some for a recipe that I'm going to make in a day or so. But I did have a package of dry pinto beans so I decided to make my own refried beans. I used this recipe as a base, since I started with dry beans and as I had some lard, I wanted to try it the "authentic" way, so used lard to fry them. What I basically used this recipe for was the spices (including a bit of lime juice) and the proportions. These refried beans are delicious -- and my 1 pound bag of dried pinto beans made the generous equivalent of 3 cans of refried beans and tasted very good. And the price is so much less. Granted, it may not always be possible to take the time to cook dried beans first, but I expect using canned pinto beans (or black beans, kidney beans or whatever beans you prefer) to make these will still save a lot of money and yield enough to freeze for another time. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I thought this was great. It was quick and easy, as advertized, and everyone loved it. Couple things: I did pour in the liquid from the beans liked others recommended and that is the right thing to do. Also, chopped a small onion and sauted it in the oil before adding the garlic. And, finally, I used a national brand of pinto beans that included jalapeno. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made these tonight, because I too did not have a can of refried beans. These were fabulous. I only had black beans, so I used those. Also did not drain the beans. The lime juice adds just the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
It came out great and I don't like beans! I thought bacon drippings would add a nice smoky flavor so I substituted the bacon drippings for the oil and the flavor it imparted was culinary excellence! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very good! Was searching for a quick recipe after I found I was out of canned refried beans. I halved the recipe, and DID use the liquid from the can (I used black beans, which were great). There wouldn't have been enough liquid otherwise. I guessed on the other measurements, and mashed them a bit, and they tasted great! Didn't seem to take the full time, and the black beans were a good change. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. I included the liquid from both cans of beans. The flavor was great. Only problem was that I did not mash up the beans all the way and my family thought they were a bit chunky. This recipe fed my family of 5 with one scoop for leftovers. Thanks for the recipe, definately a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Yum. Will never buy canned again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made these last night. Since I am the type that will not "soak beans overnight" kind-of-process - this was ten times better than buying canned refried beans. As others have stated, I will never buy a canned refried bean product again. This is the perfect answer to being easy, quick and flavorful-with a homemade taste versus a canned taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These were awesome, everyone thought they were delicious and wanted to bring some home from the Mexican themed party we had. One friend said I would put the Mexican restaurants out of business lol. I made mine a day before the party so I just had to heat them up. Maybe that helped the flavors meld together more too. I would definitely recommend making these, and they were super easy too. I'm going to be making these often. Although, I didn't really add all the lime it called for, now that think about it. I will next time and see how the taste differs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States