Quick and Easy Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
3 out of 4 of my kid's liked these. We used them to make bean burrito's. By themselves they need something more to flavor but when paired with something (like in the burritos) they were ok. They were a little on the dry side also but I drained and rinsed my beans since the recipe did not specify if they needed to be drained or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
As I prepared this tonight I was thinking our enchiladas would end up served with just rice. I wasn't hopeful about them at all. First, I meant to add some bacon - and forgot. I figured this was now going to be hopelessly non-flavorful without it. I did add half a tomato (peeled, seeded and chopped) I needed to put to good use and that proved to be a nice addition. After I mixed this up I gave it a taste and thought it had too predominant a taste of cumin. To top that off, the beans were soupy. But I kept simmering and stirring, reminding myself that the beans I get in Mexican restaurants are sometimes kind of soupy! They did thicken up after 10-15 minutes of simmering, and Hubs remarked that they were pretty "D" good. And I didn't even miss the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I prefer the taste of refried beans that use bacon grease or lard, but these aren't bad and are certainly healthier. I also added a couple of tablespoons of chopped onion with the garlic to give a bit more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. I included the liquid from both cans of beans. The flavor was great. Only problem was that I did not mash up the beans all the way and my family thought they were a bit chunky. This recipe fed my family of 5 with one scoop for leftovers. Thanks for the recipe, definately a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Just whipped this up and added paprika, red pepper flakes, taco sauce, garlic powder, pepper, and 2 tsp of ranch seasoning (gives it a sour cream tang) and it became an awesome dip for corn chips!! I had prepped black beans in my crock pot, and was afraid they wouldn't be soft enough- but came out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I don't eat the ones in the can...they are nasty sooooooooo wasn't sure if I wanted to try this or not, but needed some type of veggie. My hubby and I thought they were delicious. I didn't drain them and didn't put any lime juice on them because we don't like the flavor of lime. We like them a bit on the soupy side and that is how they turned out. For the amount of work they took, I should have given them a 5. Next time I just might put cheese or sour cream on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very good! Was searching for a quick recipe after I found I was out of canned refried beans. I halved the recipe, and DID use the liquid from the can (I used black beans, which were great). There wouldn't have been enough liquid otherwise. I guessed on the other measurements, and mashed them a bit, and they tasted great! Didn't seem to take the full time, and the black beans were a good change. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe, minus the lime juice, no one in my family liked them. (they're spoiled, because I cook my own beans), but I was out of homemade beans, so I decided to try canned beans, big mistake.Oh well, live n learn!....P.S.when I make refried beans, I also use a little bacon grease, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Yum. Will never buy canned again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I thought this was great. It was quick and easy, as advertized, and everyone loved it. Couple things: I did pour in the liquid from the beans liked others recommended and that is the right thing to do. Also, chopped a small onion and sauted it in the oil before adding the garlic. And, finally, I used a national brand of pinto beans that included jalapeno. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States