Quick and Easy Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This was perfect for our quick homemade pizza. We decided last minute to make pizza and I was worried that we wouldn't have time for the crust... then I found this little gem. Super easy and delicious. the crust puffed up to be really bready in some parts but that's likely due to my uneven rolling out... still delicious the kids and adults loved it. I doubled the recipe to make 2 pizza's. Edit: timing is innacurate: 45 total time from prep to eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tirzah Evangelista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This very close to the recipe I developed over 30 years of trial and error trying everything possible to change ingredients and technique in the process. Mine comes real close but as you all may or may not know flour moisture content requires adjustments from day to day to produce consistently good results. On a humid day flour may be much heavier with water in it. Arid climate will produce lighter weight flour to volume ratios. Making dough is an art form and one perfected by experience over time. Large commercial producers use test equipment to not only monitor flour moisture content but use weight ratios to produce their dough/crust in a consistent manner. I would simply recommend you add less flour up front and then add little quantities, kneading well between additions to get to the proper texture. Knowing what the proper texture is the artform. For instance, knowing that by kneading very sticky dough for a longer time will produce dough that isn't as sticky without adding anything. The molecular structure of the dough changes over time (what some call resting the dough). What happens is the strands of gluten bond with the water and other ingredients while it sits. So many times folks ask me why when they use my recipe their dough is too sticky to handle. Well it's because they don't have enough experience to understand that more kneading and resting is necessary. How much you say? That is the art.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Easy!! Quick!! I love this for a quick pizza. It turned out perfectly and I wouldn't change a thing. I followed the directions exactly and used a pizza stone. It was a nice texture and flavor. I may add some herbs and cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
The best easiest pizza dough. But i let it rise once about 20-30min in warmed microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I see it's been a while since someone has reviewed this recipe. It should be noted that this recipe is amazing and can be slightly altered when using brown sugar instead of white. But this recipe alone is my template.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Piirto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I love this recipe! I did use a few suggestions that others had mentioned such as I added 1/2 tsp. Oregano, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp. onion powder to the OIL and mixed the spices into the oil until well blended then add to the yeast and sugar BEFORE adding the flour. I do this because before adding the flour I put my bowl with the yeast, sugar, salt and oil mix in the microwave and warm it for approx. 15 to 20 seconds in order to help the process of my crust to rise. I also have my oven on warming to temp while making my dough. I'm telling you this because you can use this to also help get your dough to rise. I after I get my dough mixed to a nice pliable ball will leave it in the bowl and set the bowl on a cookie sheet on top of the oven for about 1/2 hour to rise. My dough ball will usually rise to double the size before I start using for crust. Another note I forgot to tell you is that the Oregano, Garlic powder and such are optional it just adds a nicer flavor to the crust. I used this same recipe to make breadsticks and they turned out fantastic. Just roll out dough like pizza, add butter or margarine with garlic powder over the top of dough and add your favorite cheese ( I used an Italian blend) and bake until cheese is nice and bubbly and starting to turn a light brown on top. Everyone at my house loves the flavor of this crust! This is a easy and no fail recipe. I will be giving this a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Bedker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This recipe was perfect. I changed nothing except I brushed the dough with olive oil, herbs, and Parmesan cheese before adding the sauce. It was easy to follow as this was my first time making homemade pizza. It turned out wonderful and very tasty. This was a hit for my family, and we definitely will keep this one in our family cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lantha Cordova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is my go-to crust for homemade pizza. The only thing is that it isn't quite as fluffy as I would like, but I read the reviews and discovered that this can be fixed by letting it rise longer than the recipe says, so I will try that next time. I bake it on a pizza stone covered in olive oil, and I add Italian seasoning to the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I use this recipe every week to make pizza for my family. Easily makes a cookie sheet sized pizza with thick crust. Our favorite! I use all-purpose flour instead of bread flour and still comes out good. It would be even better with bread flour I'm sure. I usually double this recipe, use half for pizza and the other half for garlic bread. I just add melted butter to the top and a little garlic salt and parmasean cheese and bake as it says in the recipe. Really good for how simple and fast it is :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Smalley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Great pizza dough!! I had the extra time so I did a 1 hour dough rise. I divided the dough in half to make two mini pizzas but they weren't that mini! I had a lot of dough to work with. I think next time I will divide the dough into 4 balls. We like to make mini pizzas with different toppings. This recipe will work great for that. When the pizza came out, I basted the crust edges with garlic butter. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pepperoni Pizza Muffins

Handheld pizza on the go!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States