Quick and Easy Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
4 stars for flavor and texture and a 5th star for ease of preparation and the fact that I always have these ingredients on hand. We've used this for pizza crust several times and last night I used it for breadsticks - added 2 minced cloves of garlic, rolled the dough into logs, brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled with parmesan. Baked at 450 for probably 20 minutes until the tops started to brown. Next time I'd let them rise a smidge before baking for a lighter breadstick, but they were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe as other mentioned it multiplies well. Here are some things I do that I think makes a better pizza: Use a high-gluten flour, trust me this is the difference between ho-hum and "Oh my goodness this is amazing" Use olive oil it tastes better--if you are making a lot (which we do) use half olive oil/half veggie oil to save money Make sure the water used is the same rules as baby formula, warm but not hot against the under side of your wrist. This is about 100 degrees, 110 will feel hot. I find 90 degrees not as good Mixing (there's a trick for a better dough): - mix with a dough hook. - put 3/4 of the flour in, mix for 6 minutes at a slow speed then add the rest, mix for 4 minutes. -- for the 4 minute stage let the additional flour combine then increase the speed, to about twice the speed -- the dough should not be sticky so, add little additions of flour until it's silky to the touch but not sticky. -Use the highest temperature your oven will go, a real pizza oven is 800 degrees, most ovens will only do 500. --The goal is to cook quickly so that you get a firm crust but chewy interior. Pizza will cook faster, and in non-convection you will need to move them around the oven to get the to cook evenly, every couple minutes. --Note at this temperature non-stick coatings will become poison as they melt, use only uncoated pans - Roll out dough use corn meal instead of flour to expand, this will give the bottom a nice texture without drying out the dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe is great! I didn't have to change anything, or wait for the dough to rise. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by notabrat1
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Yummy! We made this to make a dessert pizza. I added and extra teaspoon of sugar to the dough and used all purpose flour. Turn out great! Will make again for regular savory pizza. It definitely was quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Easy and problem free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The crust was tasty and it was nice to have it ready so quickly. The dough was hard to work with though - very sticky even after adding about 3/4 extra cup of corn flour when kneading and rolling out. My son said the dough was very thick, but he loved it - ate all of his!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This dough is easy to make and tastes great! I brush it with a little butter and sprinkle with garlic salt, pre-bake on my pizza stone for 10 mins. and then add toppings and cook until cheese is melty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was very good and super easy. I added garlic powder and Herbs de Provence to the dough before mixing. I had time to let it rise so I stuck it in the cold oven for about 2 hours. It rolled out easily. Added toppings and baked on a stone for 20 minutes. Waited about 5 minutes before eating.... It was delicious. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
WOW, what a great rising pizza crust. We used rapid rising yeast instead of active dry yeast and added the yeast to the dry ingredients first like you should with rapid rising yeast and then refrigerated it after letting it sit for 5 minutes to activate. When we decided to use it a couple hours later we took it out of the fridge rolled it out with a little bit of flour and cooked it on a pizza wheel. We used a little less sauce than usual to keep it from becoming soggy. This is the best crust I have made from home yet and will continue using this recipe. Must try for a rising pizza crust from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron James Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was good and quick and easy just as promised. I did add some spices to the olive oil based on another reviewer and I would do that again (1/2 teaspoon basil, 1/2 teaspoon oregano and 1/4 teaspoon onion powder). I think as a personal preference next time, and there will be a next time, I will bake it for 5 minutes and then add the toppings and see how that goes. The top of the pizza was very done where as I felt the crust could have been cooked a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States