Quick and Easy Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My family LOVES this. I make for breakfast almost every other week! I use 18 frozen dinner rolls cut in quarters. I also use the NON-instant butterscotch pudding and dip the rolls in the butter before putting in the pan. The only thing I wish I could get around is that the top is kind of crusty. This is so easy! I make the night before and put in the oven and set the oven timer to cook it in the morning. I get to sleep in and my husband gets it out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Something just isn't right here. The flavors and ease of prep are terrific but what you end up with is an uneven distribution of a hard crumbly sugary topping among bread. There has got to be a better way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This was okay; the topping was really good, but I think I'll cut up the dough as suggested next time. The cinnamon and butterscotch weren't very evenly distributed so you get a lot of it in one place and can hardly taste it in another. If every bit was flavorful, I'm sure this would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Yuck! Way too much topping! This really didn't work for me. It tasted okay the first day but was really unappealing looking. I threw it out after that. Won't be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I think my brother-in-law would refuse to celebrate Christmas if I didn't bring this for Christmas morning! He always asks me "are you going to bring that cinnamon thing?" I have found that I have more success making this in a tall sided 9x13 pan than in a tube pan. For some reason when in a bundt pan I can't get the center completely cooked. One secret I have discovered to getting the center done without overcooking the edges is to cover the pan with foil after 15 minutes of cooking. It comes out perfectly that way. I let my rolls thaw enough to cut each of them into 3 or 4 pieces before assembly so I get a better distribution of cinnamon mixture throughout the dough. I also discovered that it works better to use non-instant pudding and combine it with the sugar and melted butter in a saucepan then sprinkle each layer of rolls with cinnamon and pour the sugar/pudding/butter mixture over the top. I think this is really at its best when served warm or on the same day it is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
After tasting this, the first words out of my husband's mouth were "You have to make this every week." Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was soooo good! I divided each frozen roll into four smaller pieces, and then I rolled each piece in melted butter and dipped it into each of the dry mixtures. It ended up being very gooey and very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
THIS IS GREAT!!!!! EASY TO MAKE AND THE FAMILY LOVES IT. TOOK IT TO WORK AND BOTH BOSSES ATE MOST OF IT. MAKE IT ALL THE TIME FOR OUR FAMILY BREAKFAST GET TOGETHERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Very delicious crumb topping. My problem was 24 rolls were too much for the pan. Also, the butter and sugar mixture kind of settle at the bottom of the pan, so the top layer of rolls aren't as tasty as the bottom. However, that bottom layer was delicious! Maybe drizzle cream cheese frosting on the top to keep it interesting after cooking? Could work next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
This was great. I made the night before and baked the next morning. My family went nuts over it. If you follow the directions exactly, it should turn out fine. I had no problem with the mixtures not being distributed evenly and it came right out of the pan with no sticking and easy clean up. I would recommend using Baker's Joy because it is a non-stick spray with flour. Works great every time. Thanks Holly. Will be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States