Quick and Easy Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Easy, fast and tastes pretty good with a change in spice Add garlic powder, onion powder, salt, cayenne, celery, allspice, tiniest bit of clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Make it just the way it says... It is delicious! I didn't have allspice, so looked it up to make it myself. Turns out it's equal parts cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove spices. Added it, and man, it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very Good. I needed a large amount of ketchup for a recipe and used this. Worked out perfectly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Danielle
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
It was definitely quick and easy, however I feel the taste needed adjusting. :) Instead of using concentrated juice, I used 100% fresh pineapple juice. It made a HUGE difference. I also added a few extra spices. :) I ended up canning two half pints in a hot water bath & still had some ketchup left over. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
You know, pretty darn good as homemade ketchups go. I have tried several recipes that my kids just don't like. This one has no raw garlic and no cooking and my kids will tolerate it. So that is saying a lot! I used stevia instead of apple juice concentrate (to taste.) That is just the go-to sugar at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
R. Holland, knows what he/she is doing. This looks and taste like my grandmothers old time Ketchup recipe. I am a professional Pitmaster BBQ competition cook. I will use this Ketchup in my next event. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very good recipe, quick, easy, and very tasty. However, to those who are avoiding sugar, to be clear, any kind of juice concentrate has A LOT of sugar. Concentrate refers to the way it is made. The fruit is put into a huge maceration chamber where several bags of granulated sugar are added to the fruit and left there for sometimes months at a time. The reason why this is done is so that these companies can offer the product year round. Bacteria and other pathogens will not grow in sugar, so they're able to pile on crop after crop of fruit without a loss. So don't think there is no sugar in this recipe. There is some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyteshayde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I halved the recipe but kept the seasonings the same. I didn't have apple juice concentrate, so I started with a tbsp of honey and added more to taste. I was careful not to add too much water (since I could add more later) and I used about a tsp more vinegar than called for (apple cider vinegar instead of white). I'm going to use some of this to make cocktail sauce and I can already tell the taste is right on for it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
What a great recipe! I didn't have apple juice concentrate, so I subbed 1 Tbl honey and added 1/2 cup minus 1 Tbl of water (in addition to the 3/4 cup in the recipe). I increased the vinegar slightly to add a little acidity that I thought might be missing without the apple juice conc (I used 4 tsp of apple cider vinegar in place of 1 Tbl white vinegar. And I used smoked paprika in place of regular. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This tastes great! I omitted the salt and used dried chopped onion (Kirkland brand), as I didn't have onion powder. The Thyme I used was not ground, and just said "Thyme" on the label. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I won't be buying catsup again. This also could be varied by adding a little dill or dill pickle juice, and other flavors as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States