Quick and Easy Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Miss Danielle
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
It was definitely quick and easy, however I feel the taste needed adjusting. :) Instead of using concentrated juice, I used 100% fresh pineapple juice. It made a HUGE difference. I also added a few extra spices. :) I ended up canning two half pints in a hot water bath & still had some ketchup left over. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
You know, pretty darn good as homemade ketchups go. I have tried several recipes that my kids just don't like. This one has no raw garlic and no cooking and my kids will tolerate it. So that is saying a lot! I used stevia instead of apple juice concentrate (to taste.) That is just the go-to sugar at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
R. Holland, knows what he/she is doing. This looks and taste like my grandmothers old time Ketchup recipe. I am a professional Pitmaster BBQ competition cook. I will use this Ketchup in my next event. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very good recipe, quick, easy, and very tasty. However, to those who are avoiding sugar, to be clear, any kind of juice concentrate has A LOT of sugar. Concentrate refers to the way it is made. The fruit is put into a huge maceration chamber where several bags of granulated sugar are added to the fruit and left there for sometimes months at a time. The reason why this is done is so that these companies can offer the product year round. Bacteria and other pathogens will not grow in sugar, so they're able to pile on crop after crop of fruit without a loss. So don't think there is no sugar in this recipe. There is some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyteshayde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I halved the recipe but kept the seasonings the same. I didn't have apple juice concentrate, so I started with a tbsp of honey and added more to taste. I was careful not to add too much water (since I could add more later) and I used about a tsp more vinegar than called for (apple cider vinegar instead of white). I'm going to use some of this to make cocktail sauce and I can already tell the taste is right on for it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
What a great recipe! I didn't have apple juice concentrate, so I subbed 1 Tbl honey and added 1/2 cup minus 1 Tbl of water (in addition to the 3/4 cup in the recipe). I increased the vinegar slightly to add a little acidity that I thought might be missing without the apple juice conc (I used 4 tsp of apple cider vinegar in place of 1 Tbl white vinegar. And I used smoked paprika in place of regular. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This tastes great! I omitted the salt and used dried chopped onion (Kirkland brand), as I didn't have onion powder. The Thyme I used was not ground, and just said "Thyme" on the label. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I won't be buying catsup again. This also could be varied by adding a little dill or dill pickle juice, and other flavors as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Prepared it as per the recipe; tasted before putting it in the frig for 4 hours. So very good, we can't wait to taste again after it has been sitting for 4 hours. First thought it tasted like pizza sauce or spagetti sauce but the after flavor was ketchup. I think this is a winner for our house. Also love the fact that it uses apple juice, just make sure your apple juice has no added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lucky
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I highly recommend this recipe as a "base" recipe for your ketchup. Does not really require tweaking as far as taste. I did add a little extra liquid (vinegar and water) to reach my desired consistency. Start off with suggested ingredients then as as desired. I did add a bit more onion. My family loved this ketchup!! I will be making it again, possibly adding a bit of jalepeno for a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Great sugar-free alternative. Super flavor. I made one batch, tasted it and then made two more batches! I'm also avoiding salt and it has lots of flavor without the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States