Quick and Easy Indian-Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I hate okra but I am trying to eat a wider variety of vegetables so decided to try it. I actually find it GOOD. Yes, it's not the spiciest Indian dish but it's still okra cooked well. I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I liked the subtle flavour, tasted indian to me, and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I make this recipe frequently. Indian food is not always supposed to be spicey and the amount of spices is just right. Wonderful easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I give this one 2 stars, but due to operator error :) I love okra but don't cook it very often so mine turned out really stringy. Guess those special spices are pretty important too; I had to eliminate a couple and the resulting flavor was not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I'm sorry, but I did not care for this recipe at all. Please learn from my mistake and save yourself the trouble. This was so bland; I more than doubled the spices and still it didn't taste flavorful at all. In fact it tasted pretty bad (before and after adding more spices). I tried to fix it up, but really this recipe isn't even worth experimenting with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Awesome stuff, though I modified the spices to what I had on hand - garam masala, coriander and cumin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a decent okra dish, but it's not a very good Indian okra dish. I doubled the spices and added half of a jalapeno, and it still seemed to be missing something, so I added coriander and fresh ginger, and I topped it with chopped cilantro. Nope, still missing something. I love the okra at our favorite Indian restaurant, and although I didn't expect this to taste like that, I expected more flavor. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This dish was extremely bland to my taste. I am American, but I cook only Indian food for myself and my Indian fiance. We are used to spices- not terribly hot chili spice (he's actually very sensitive to chilis), but just lots of cumin, coriander, turmeric, ginger, etc. But when I made this recipe, even though I added twice the stated amounts of each spice (as Manisha said the spices could be increased, and I knew the amounts were very small for our tastes), AND I added chopped fresh coriander, it was still disappointingly bland. I also used about 1/2 of the recommended oil. I gave the recipe 2 stars because it still has some of the basic ingredients for a good okra dish, and it may be good in a pinch (when you're not in the mood to chop/measure out a bunch of ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was a pleasant surprise. The favors blended well for me. I didn't have a couple of the spices, but it still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States