Quick and Easy Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I always microwave my potatoes before pan frying, it makes things go so much faster. I like onion in my hash browns, so while the potatoes are in the microwave I start the onions in the skillet. I also add paprika to help w/the browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was an awesome home fries recipe turned out so tasty and it was fast not like the usual hash brown recipes. Easy just dice throw in pan and put lid on till tender toss to brown. Thumbs Up! So happy I looked here for the best home fries recipe to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Super easy and simple. I did use olive oil instead of butter but other than that followed the directions. Thanks for demystifying home fries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
A very helpful recipe, I never could get my home fries right. My potatoes did take longer to cook than the recipe stated. I like to add onions and garlic salt after taking off the lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
easy & yummy. I added a bit of red pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Perfect. I added scallions and parsley toward the end. I used a cast iron skillet set to high with the lid on and then for the last part, where you remove the lid, I set the heat to 4. Needed a little salt and pepper at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This turned out to be one of the best I have tried, real restaurant quality, loved it. I added some onion and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I also added EVOO, about 2TB and used 1 TB of butter and did not cover them throughout. I used a spatula to flip instead of stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Loved this recipe w/ a few tweaks I used from other reviews & recipes - thx to all for ideas! I used a dozen red potatoes instead of russets, cubed & dried, then put in skillet w/ 2 tbsps olive oil + 1 tbsp butter. Also added freshly ground sea salt & pepper, garlic powder, touch of cayenne. Someone suggested sprinkling in some bread crumbs for extra crispiness & to leave lid off for 10-15 mins at end. Threw in some fresh garlic & onions when they were 5-10 mins from done. All of those ideas/additions along w/ basic recipe worked great! My family loved these; the amt this made should've fed 8 or more as side dish but the 4 of us polished all of them off! Definitely a new family favorite - they ask for these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Used half veg oil half margarine, 7 smaller white potatoes added salt and pepper then covered for 10 min. Flipped, added seasoning salt, garlic powder and 1/2 of an onion, chopped. Stirred and cooked uncovered until crispy 10-15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States