Quick and Easy Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe but fried some bacon and then used the left over grease mixed with the butter while cooking. Then I wrapped it up by sprinkling pieces of bacon into the potatoes while they cooked uncovered for the final minute. They came out great. Crispy outside with a soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is how I have fried my potatoes my entire life, except for the lid, which I never use. Garlic salt or powder, salt & pepper to taste. Occasionally throw in Italian seasoning, onion or bacon, depending on my mood. Good basic recipe and pretty much fool proof, unless you try to crowd in too many potatoes - then they don't crisp up as well. My family loves these with eggs and bacon or sausage. I always cook them in my old cast iron pan, and no camping trip is complete without these potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maxwell, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe...nothing like real butter and high heat! I brown mine like this recipe, then I add chopped onions & red bell peppers and season w/Greek seasoning or Adobo and plenty of pepper! I finish at low heat uncovered.....Do not turn the taters anymore than absolutely necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slide

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ripley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I always microwave my potatoes before pan frying, it makes things go so much faster. I like onion in my hash browns, so while the potatoes are in the microwave I start the onions in the skillet. I also add paprika to help w/the browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was an awesome home fries recipe turned out so tasty and it was fast not like the usual hash brown recipes. Easy just dice throw in pan and put lid on till tender toss to brown. Thumbs Up! So happy I looked here for the best home fries recipe to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Super easy and simple. I did use olive oil instead of butter but other than that followed the directions. Thanks for demystifying home fries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
A very helpful recipe, I never could get my home fries right. My potatoes did take longer to cook than the recipe stated. I like to add onions and garlic salt after taking off the lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeybunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
easy & yummy. I added a bit of red pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Perfect. I added scallions and parsley toward the end. I used a cast iron skillet set to high with the lid on and then for the last part, where you remove the lid, I set the heat to 4. Needed a little salt and pepper at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This turned out to be one of the best I have tried, real restaurant quality, loved it. I added some onion and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States