Quick and Easy Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Jrinagrl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I had the best breakfast in a while. Made this with the fluffy eggs recipes....perfection. it was simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roselle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is as good as home-cooked potatoes get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
What a great way to use up potatoes! I had a few (they were getting soft, and still turned out with a perfect texture!) that I didn't want to spend a lot of time on, and tried this recipe on a whim. I sliced the potatoes into traditional french fry-shaped sticks, and followed the recipe exactly. The fries were a little brown on the side that got 10 minutes covered, and a few were soft when the batch was done, so next time I might start stirring a little sooner. Other than that, the recipe was amazing! My husband loved them, saying they were as good as the restaurant fries we had eaten last night. Easy and delicious - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niyog8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Pretty good basic recipe, followed pretty much as written except didn't use russet but 'white premium'. I used a non-stick pan, about 1.5 tbsp butter (stick measurement) since I was too lazy to try to measure out the scaled down amounts. For my one & half potato took about 7 mins uncovered since I cut them down to small bite sized cubes & didn't want to burn them. They came out basically really crisp brown on one side yet cooked soft on the inside - like diners. Yes, quick and easy home fries. I ate it all with ketchup on the side as if dining out....will be trying other variations as others have mentioned. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These are the kind of fries I have always made. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
1/12: quick and easy way to make potatoes. do not cover. use butter and evoo. and don't move them too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I only used half of a potato because I wanted to try it out for myself for breakfast. It came out great! I added onion and cooked it with the potato according to the recipe. Salt pepper and ketchup on the side, and they tasted like they were fresh from a diner, crispy outside, soft inside. awesome. I used less butter and the time was a lot shorter because I had less potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glory E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I also sliced, which makes them a little harder to turn (the suction) but they were still delicious--tender inside and crispy outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Leenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Simple, but a great recipe to start with. I used 3 Yukon gold potatoes, 1 Tbsp butter, and a cast iron skillet. They tasted just like diner home fries (the butter is the key to the diner taste, I think). Mine didn't really crisp up, but I used much less fat and didn't dry them after dicing. I also added in diced onion, green pepper, breakfast sausage, and mushroom after uncovering and cooked everything probably an extra 10 minutes. I know that varies considerably from the base recipe here, but I wanted something that tasted just like diner fries to accompany my french toast, and this recipe got exactly the results I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Gledhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Good and easy just as stated. I did add sliced onions a few minutes before the end. Tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States