Quick and Easy Grilled Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Just a little tip as to how we make ours (the recipe was edited a bit): I actually also rub the skins with oil, salt and pepper, which makes them just a bit crispier. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I fixed these for dinner tonight . I followed most of the recipe as written except....I used 5 smaller potatoes instead of 2 large . After microwaving , I sliced them in half , covered them with Krafts Tuscan House Italian Dressing and Marinade , let them sit for about 45 minutes & then grilled them . Served with sour cream & butter, they tasted great (in fact they would have been great even without the sour cream ) ! This recipe will be a regular here during grilling season . Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
The only way to eat potatoes in this household now. We also coat the halved potatoes entirely with olive oil then sprinkle with kosher salt, cracked pepper. Sometimes to kick up the flavor a notch we sprinkle steak seasonings on them as well. Amazing flavor and lets you eat the entire potato for more nutrients! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
We have made potatoes this way for many years but hubby, the expert grill man, never bothers to microwave them first. I score the potato halves in a cross-hatch fashion, which may help them cook faster and looks so pretty! I also sprinkle with seasoning which varies to our tastes--any herbs are delicious, but my favorite is dill. We usually do the vegetables on the grill too, which makes for a totally mess free kitchen--no pans to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
The health police may be looking, but...... I don't care. Generously rub the potato skins with soft bacon grease, just put some in the palm of your hand and do it, then season with kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper. You know, what's left in the pan after cooking real bacon. Save it, your mom did. It makes a LOT of things delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peculiarmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was incredibly easy and a nice change from the same old baked potato. I added a little paprika and garlic powder to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I tried these tonight and they were really tasty! At the end of the grilling time I put a handful of shredded cheese on top and closed the grill for a few minutes. Just like a loaded baked potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
These were surprisingly good. My husband and I were sort of shocked at how good these were, actually. No extra seasoning or butter needed; a healthy way to eat baked potatoes. The grill lends a yummy smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I knew for our taste we would need more flavor than just the salt, pepper and oil so I roasted a head of garlic and rubbed the potatoes with the soft cloves after grilling. Next time I think I will sprinkle with a 3 cheese blend I get from my deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I've been making this recipe for a few years now except I spray the halved potatoes with Pam instead of using olive oil. After spraying I lightly salt and pepper them before grilling for 15 minutes or so. Using food service gloves eliminates the greasy gunk on my hands. I serve them with just a little bit of sour cream. So easy and very good! The potato skins are always so crisp too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States