Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Wow! Let me start out by saying that I haven't found an enchilada recipe, white or red, that I like. Most are so incredibly bland & boring(even w/tweaking) & just not my thing. I loved this so much I ended up having seconds! I skipped the charring & added cheddar w/the monterey jack. I also followed some other reviewers & added a bit of taco seasoning w/the chicken mixture & mixed the chicken & sour cream together. I cut my tortillas smaller & only ended up using 2/3 of them. Doubled the recipe into 2 9x13 pans so we could have leftovers & I'm sooooo glad I did that!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe. As mentioned in other reviews, I mixed the chicken and the sour cream (along with some added cumin and paprika). It turned out fantastic! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fantastic recipe considering its simplicity! I made it tonight for the first time. I used all of the meat (minus the skin) from a charcoal cooked rotisserie chicken I bought from a fantastic restaurant around the corner from where I live. Also, I used a 16 oz jar of verde enchilada sauce with the remaining 12 oz (28 total for the sauce) from a jar of locally made green chile salsa. As others have suggested, I mixed the rotisserie chicken (which I hand shredded) with the sour cream and added a small amount of garlic salt. I cut the corn tortillas into quarters and applied everything evenly. It turned out fantastic. Granted, purchasing a quality rotisserie chicken for this recipe isn't the most cost effective method, but it sure turned out great! Edit: I almost forgot. I ended up coating the dish with some bacon fat I had leftover from making bacon fried rice the night before. It's definitely not healthy but added a tasty, bacony crispiness to the crust on the bottom and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This recipe turned out pretty well overall. I did make the mistake of using flour tortillas instead of corn so they were a little soggy after baking, definitely will use corn if I make this again. I also think that I will make the green chile sauce as well instead of buying the canned version. However, for a quick and easy meal the canned stuff works out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gramma
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The first time I made this recipe my husband and I really enjoyed it! I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made it for a larger group and changed it up a bit. Everyone loved it and now I'm on my third time making it! I use a rotissarie chicken that I purchase at the grocery store and just shred it. Then I add a sauted onion and a can of fire roasted mild green chile peppers. I don't char the torillas and only use 8 of them. Nor do I cover the casserole when it's in the oven. Great recipe, thanks SGRCOOK for the foundation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I'm afraid I thought this was too much work for so-so results. If I try it again I'll need to change it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This just did not work for me. The chicken tasted just boiled. But I also do not like chicken enchiladas in a restaurant - too dry. I had hoped this would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrbabe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My family loved this recipe! Being from Texas, we like things spicy so I added the taco seasoning mix and some chopped mild jalapenos to the chicken/sour cream mixture, and then added even more as garnish. Will definitely serve next time I have a crowd to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I served it tonight and everyone loved it. I made a double recipe and used 2 packs of Gardien brand vegetarian "chicken", one tub of Tofutti sour cream, and one package of Daiya cheddar cheese. I also added one can of black beans. I followed a reviewer's suggestion and just mixed everything all together (including all the sour cream and 2/3 of the package of "cheese")then just put it in the casserole dish and sprinkled the "cheese" on top. It tasted great!! It took 65 minutes to get hot in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Penryn, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Would give it more stars, if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States