Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was so delicious I grilled the chicken and use garlic pepper to season it I also used a Mexican blend cheese my family loved it.I used fresh and easy enchilada sauce and they're Mexican blend cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
As usual for me, I used this recipe and tweaked it for my personal tastes and I found it to be an excellent base. I used the roasted "buttery garlic" whole chicken you buy at the deli, and I pulled the two breasts and thigh meat and used that. (I saved the other parts for another recipe). I found this recipe lacks moisture as/is, so when I make it again, I'll add more sauce of some sort -- something buttery, or creamy -- maybe a loose cheese sauce. The green enchilada sauce is assertive, so one can is plenty, and salsa on top (as the video suggested) didn't really add much moisture to the ingredients below. I found it to be delicious and so did my husband, though. I added fresh cilantro leaves to the inner layer so every other bite had a burst of freshness-- delicious! I also added a light layer of sliced black olives to the inner layer for a little punch. The video didn't suggest toasting the corn tortillas over an open flame as the written receipt did, so I wanted to suggest you do this step. The slight char that came up in a few bites was delightful. I served mine with shredded lettuce, sliced tomatoes, and a dollop of sour cream. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EllenSallas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA
Living In: Clanton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I followed the recipe as stated. The flavor was good. However, it turned out to be too soupy as others have stated. The charring of the tortilla's is a bit time consuming as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
My family loved it! We did not have the sloppy mess issue. I would change the name though. While it was easy, it was NOT quick. 2 hours to make something is not quick! I stuck the tortilla halves directly on the burner over the flames because I didn't want to take 30 minutes charring them. I had two burners going and was able to do 4 halves at a time. Next time, I'll char whole tortillas then cut them in half. I poured the 1/2" of sauce in the pan, and had used half the can. I misread the recipe and dredged the rest of the tortillas in the enchilada sauce for the middle and top layers. I also pushed everything down into the pan once all the ingredients were in. I think this helped soak up all the sauce at the bottom. I liked the idea of mixing the chicken and sour cream together before adding them. I plan to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I made this and modified a little. I gotta say first, I love making casseroles like this!! I did not add the sour cream to the dish, instead we just topped as we wanted. I put cumin and chilli pepper seasonings as well as garlic powder and sea salt. I added fresh diced red onion and tomato!! This is a first rate recipe!! Thanks for sharing!! (I paired this with Cilantro Lime Quinoa... So good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Jerdon
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
5 stars for minimal ingredients and ease of preparation. 3 stars for taste. I think it is just my personal preference for flour tortillas. Of course, then this recipe would not be enchiladas, it would be burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I did this in the slow cooker & adapted the recipe for less fat & calories - I replaced 1/2 the cheese w/ tofu cheese (less saturated fat) & also added dried tomatoes from my garden, which always add some savory/bass notes. I forgot to put in the sour cream (I would hv used Greek lo-fat yogurt if I had remembered - same great taste, more protein, less fat by far). I cut the chicken breasts in 1/2 lengthwise but did not pre-cook the chicken before I added it for a layer. I did not char the tortillas - layered them & used them whole, * they turned ito a nice thick layer of cornmeal. -- -- The whole thing was easy, pretty healthy & VERY satisfying. I was able to freeze extra for a later meal. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This is very good. I used leftover chicken supplemented with sautéed onion, pepper, and mushrooms. Mixed with sour cream as other reviewers suggested. I used red sauce in the bottom and middle and green sauce on top. Also topped the green sauce with some canned chopped tomato with green chiles. A keeper. I tore my tortillas in half and just heated them in a non stick skillet before assembling the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Just ok to throw together on a busy night. Definitely needs some seasoning , onions, and maybe olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay s.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
We LOVE this, having a second serving tonight. My husband didn't even add hot sauce, taco sauce, nothing, and really ate it up and looking forward to it again tonite. I did use many of the "tips" from others, coating the torn up tacos, added green onions, mixed chicken with the sour cream---perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States