Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Would give it more stars, if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is a good starting point however I don't like the idea of eating all that sour cream so i substituted it for greek yogurt. I also sautéed one yellow chopped union with about 1/3 of chopped mushrooms. I mixed the sauteed mix with the yogurt, chopped fresh cilantro, and the shredded chicken which I boiled. Overall all it had great flavor. I topped the casserole with a shredded mexican cheese mx that I happened to have in my fridge 10-min before I pulled it out of the oven. What I will do differently next time: I will not chard the tortillas. Although it had great flavor it was slightly mushy, not soupy but not as firm as I would have liked. I will also consider adding green chilies or something to give it a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very good. I made this for a potluck and it all was gone. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great taste and easy to make. It will be one of my staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was delicious. I skipped charring the tortillas per advice from other reviewers. I also mixed the sour cream in with the cooked chiken to make it easier to spread in the casserole. I also added a can of diced green chilis into the chicken mixture for a little more flavor. I prepared everything the previous night & popped it in the over the next day afer work. My whole family liked it, including my picky husband who is not a mexican food fan in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Great recipe! Changes made: I use ground chicken instead of whole (faster to make and tastes just as good), white corn tortillas over the grill, and for a little extra flavor I add avocados in my layers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this as written but layered it up in a microwave safe dish, covered it with the lid and nuked it for 20 minutes on 75%. Perfect! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe plus one addition. In a pan with olive oil I saute'd garlic, onion, and red bell pepper and added that mixture to the chicken and sour cream. Baked for 30 minutes covered and then 5 minutes uncovered. Tasted like an entree at a local Mexican restaurant. Will make again. Served with chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MistyManda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My family liked this rendition of chicken enchilada casserole. I would definitely recommend cooking the chicken ahead to save on time if you are in a hurry. That way you don't spend time waiting for it to cool so you can shred it before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. Had I had the chicken ahead of time I surely would have cooked it a day before. It was surely easy enough to make but I followed the video more so than the written recipe. I didn't char the tortillas before adding them I just tore them in to fourths and I used a Mexican blend of cheese instead of just a shredded Monterrey jack. I also topped with my favorite Daisy Sour Cream and ripe avocado slices. I had to cook it much longer than the recipe called for. My oven is pretty right on with AllRecipes.Com so I was a bit surprised. I ended up cooking the casserole 75 minutes as appose to 45 minutes. All in all this recipe is a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States