Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
We thought this was really tasty but thought it could be a little more substantial. Next time I will try adding a few veggies for flavor and possibly rice or potatoes to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was very tasty and very easy! The only change I made was that I used garlic pepper instead of garlic salt. I also took others suggestion and mixed the chicken and the sour cream together. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe for the most part with the exception of mixing the sour cream with the chicken. The other change was the night before I actually baked the casserole I prepared the chicken by boiling it with a mixture of spices (cumin, chile powder, garlic powder, onion powder and salt). I then shredded it and refrigerated it until I was ready to put the dish together. I would make this again, but it seems like the type of green chili sauce could make or break this recipe. I might try it with red enchilada sauce next time. My 7 yo daughter really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I just made this for supper tonight!. I followed the recipe exactly minus the fact that I have an electric stove so no open flame to char the tortilla's.....but it still turned out wonderful!......Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very good. I think I'll add beans next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is great and my husband loves it so much I am popular tonight! I cooked the chicken with taco mix on it to seal the flavor. I put New Mexican green chilis, green onions,cilantro, Rotel to spice it up and bush's pinto beans in the layers. I didn't have alot of shredded cheese on hand so I used velveeta too and also replaced some of the sour cream with Fage yogurt since I was short on sour cream:) It's 9 miles to the store so sometimes we have to improvise. I think this recipe is the bomb no matter replacements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Excellente! Definitely don't skip charring the tortillas. Adds a nice smokey flavor and keeps the tortillas from turning to mush. If you don't have a gas burner, cook the tortillas in hot oil in a skillet for a minute or so. I also added seasonings to the sour cream (cumin, red pepper flakes, cilantro, garlic) and mixed it with the chicken to make it easier to prep. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Wow! Let me start out by saying that I haven't found an enchilada recipe, white or red, that I like. Most are so incredibly bland & boring(even w/tweaking) & just not my thing. I loved this so much I ended up having seconds! I skipped the charring & added cheddar w/the monterey jack. I also followed some other reviewers & added a bit of taco seasoning w/the chicken mixture & mixed the chicken & sour cream together. I cut my tortillas smaller & only ended up using 2/3 of them. Doubled the recipe into 2 9x13 pans so we could have leftovers & I'm sooooo glad I did that!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe. As mentioned in other reviews, I mixed the chicken and the sour cream (along with some added cumin and paprika). It turned out fantastic! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fantastic recipe considering its simplicity! I made it tonight for the first time. I used all of the meat (minus the skin) from a charcoal cooked rotisserie chicken I bought from a fantastic restaurant around the corner from where I live. Also, I used a 16 oz jar of verde enchilada sauce with the remaining 12 oz (28 total for the sauce) from a jar of locally made green chile salsa. As others have suggested, I mixed the rotisserie chicken (which I hand shredded) with the sour cream and added a small amount of garlic salt. I cut the corn tortillas into quarters and applied everything evenly. It turned out fantastic. Granted, purchasing a quality rotisserie chicken for this recipe isn't the most cost effective method, but it sure turned out great! Edit: I almost forgot. I ended up coating the dish with some bacon fat I had leftover from making bacon fried rice the night before. It's definitely not healthy but added a tasty, bacony crispiness to the crust on the bottom and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States