Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My family and I didn't like this a whole lot. We didn't hate it, but it is not a recipe I will repeat. The only addition I made was to add cumin to the shredded chicken, as I love cumin very much, and I always put it in any Mexican or Southwestern recipe. The flavor is ok, but not enough for us. The texture is probably the biggest issue for us. Kind of mushy. At first I was trying to think of some ways to change it next time for more flavor, such as adding a can of green chilies to the chicken for some heat, but after talking to my family while we ate about what I might try to do different next time, I realized they weren't very enthusiastic, so I'll not try it again. It's ok, and I'm glad so many people love it, as I always feel bad when I don't give a recipe a rave review. But I do try and be honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Very similar to a dish I made up myself a few weeks ago, except I used corn taco shells broken in half, and salsa verde from Trader Joe's. Also added a diced onion and a can of drained black beans along w/the chicken. Hubs doesn't like sour cream, so left that out and added it to mine after cooking. Cilantro would be great too - will try that next time. Very much like enchiladas verdes, but gluten free, and less work in casserole form. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I have tried this recipe several times and it is a delicious recipe as is! It is VERY simple as written. The thing I love about this recipe is you can use any type of chicken, cut, ripped, baked boiled, or rotisserie. It all works. You can mix the sour cream with the chicken, which I too prefer, or dollop it on. I do find Jack Cheese is best and melts great in this recipe, but again that is personal preference. I might throw in some Mozzarella next time, but I do love it with white cheeses... pairs really well with the mild taste of Green Enchilada sauce. Top with Green Onion and sliced Black Olives YUM! I like Salsa and Sour Cream on the side for guests so they can add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Excellent. Did not char the tortillas. Came out fine. Will be making again many, many times. Very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Awesome recipe. I roasted bone-in, chicken breast halves seasoned with some essence cajun seasoning. After roasting and cooling the chicken, removed skin and shredded. Sauteed some onion until carmelized and added a little to each layer which added a nice layer of flavor. Otherwise no changes, and I'm sure it would have been delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I also used sliced green onion and sliced black olives on each layer and used about 1/2 cup more cheese on the top took foil off the last 15min. to brown just a little. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hopkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I used this as a base recipe. I like more veggies especially when therebis this much dairy. I chopped up a red pepper, I onion, 1 jalapeños with seeds removed and added 1 can dieced green chilies. I boiled my chicken with 3 gloves of garlic and a jalapeño with seeds for flavor then added the chicken into my sauté pan with veggies. I did everything else the same. It was really tasty! Because there is only 2 of us I used 2 9×9 pan's and froze one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Hughen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is excellent and have made it for years. Always a RAVE!! Thank you! 5 STARS easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Benaybee
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Loved it!! We were so excited to try it, I forgot to take a picture before we dug in. There are a few things I'd modify. I will marinate the chicken overnight then cook it next day in a covered roaster as I found the meat to come out a little dry & not really seasoned on the inside just by baking it. I also ran out of the chile sauce (large can) so I dumped a can of Rotelle on top of the final layer and it was delicious!!! I also used an lock of Monterey Jack cheese and cut it up instead of the shredded cheese that tends to disappear. Recipe was easy and quick! And really really delicious!!! This will become a part of the dinner time meal rotations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I just had this for dinner and it was fantastic! Like others have done, I mixed the chicken with the sour cream to make it easier to spread. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. This may be a new favorite for me -- so easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States