Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy Lee Niece
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We travel alot in our rv . It was nice to have something that I would make at home with more space to cook. It was easy to make & at very little cost. I was able to buy all the things to make this dish ( except the boneless chicken) at the .99cent store. The whole mael had a cost of about 6.50 to make. And it tasted very good . I made some rice and a salad fed for people . And I cut the recipe in half. Full recipe makes alot .I am going to pass thing on to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Lee Niece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Followed a few commenters. Blending in jalepenos to the green chile sauce adds a great kick and more flavor. Plus mixing the sour cream to the chicken gives it a great overall bite- instead of bites without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This delicious casserole was a hit! It was even inhaled by my 9 yr twin boys. I did add a can of diced chiles, 1 T+ taco seasoning, 3 T cream cheese, and sprinkled onion powder liberally over the top, for extra flavor. The chicken was boiled in water with 4 cloves garlic. I also skipped the charring and mixed the sour cream and shredded chicken together. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
So good!! The main thing I changed was cook the chicken overnight (or at least 5-6 hours) in the crockpot with a jar of salsa or enchilada sauce. The chicken is DELICIOUS and so easy. Then drained chicken and add sautéed red, orange, green peppers and a little onion. Mix sour cream in with chicken and peppers. My whole family, including my very picky son, loved the flavor. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
All the flavors just melted together and resulted in a really bland dish in my opinion. I used frontera green sauce and rotisserie chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
LOVE this recipe!!! I make it two different ways. One I use a rotisserie chicken...they are my go to for all things chicken! The 2nd is a packaged Fajita Chicken Strips. I just chop them up! Already tons of flavor in both. Hubby is not a sour cream fan so I leave that out and put a nice dollop on mine when I serve it. I also skip charring the tortilla's. You can't taste it so it's an extra step for me. Awesome recipe and a lot of different things you can do to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Creighton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I used whole wheat tortillas and after I toasted and baked them, I needed a steak knife to cut into them. I also made it using onions, pepper & garlic and mixed the sauce and sour cream right in with everything and added cumin. I think I needed more sauce but the flavor was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Used flour tortillas instead, didn't char them, and didn't use the whole can of sauce. Shredded the chicken in a food processor, seasoned with garlic salt, red pepper, and cumin, and mixed the sour cream in with the chicken for easier spreading. I used Colby Jack and cheddar cheese because that's what I had on hand. It was still a little runny, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Thought this was great! Next time I make it I will use 3 chicken breasts instead. I charred the tortillas, but won't next time to save time. I will also add the sour cream to the chicken as it is very difficult to spread over cheese. I added some chopped roasted green chilies I had stockpiled in the freezer in with the layers to add a bit more flavor. Definitely need a 9 by 13 pan as it was filled to the top. Shredding the chicken in the food processor is a huge time saver as well. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Can't believe how yummy this turned out! I even used the short cut from a reviewer that used frozen chicken instead to speed things up - I was hesitant, but it didn't affect the flavor at all. For my own spin, i added 2 cans of green chiles, diced and put it on the middle layer - really added some more zing to it! Also, can't believe how good this tastes heated up the next day. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States