Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This is very good. I used leftover chicken supplemented with sautéed onion, pepper, and mushrooms. Mixed with sour cream as other reviewers suggested. I used red sauce in the bottom and middle and green sauce on top. Also topped the green sauce with some canned chopped tomato with green chiles. A keeper. I tore my tortillas in half and just heated them in a non stick skillet before assembling the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Just ok to throw together on a busy night. Definitely needs some seasoning , onions, and maybe olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay s.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
We LOVE this, having a second serving tonight. My husband didn't even add hot sauce, taco sauce, nothing, and really ate it up and looking forward to it again tonite. I did use many of the "tips" from others, coating the torn up tacos, added green onions, mixed chicken with the sour cream---perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I tried this recipe just to try and how different it was from the one I had received from one of my Hispanic neighbors. First of all I made my own enchilada sauce, which was refreshing. Second, after shredding my chicken, I heated up a pan of oil which I deep- fried my tortilla. After I finished deep frying, I took each tortilla and dipped it in my sauce and started layering my tortillas, filling each tortilla with Monterey Jack cheese and chicken. I love my sauce hot and because I had put cheese on my tortilla and chicken, i didn't put as much on top. I don't care for sour cream in my Mexican food when I cook so I totally ignored the ingredient. I then poured the balance of my sauce on top. Stuck it in the oven until the cheese melted. Made some Spanish rice. Meal was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is a huge favorite! I made a couple of changes. I would mix up the shredded chicken, sour cream, and put in a packet of taco seasoning....by mixing these ingredients together, makes it easier to spread. I also added tomatillo sauce and jalapenos. I would put sour cream, olives, and salsa on side for people to add on. Actually going to make it yet again this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzanne
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I served this to guests last night, and it was a hit. They said it was better than chicken enchiladas, and it's far easier and healthier than fixing enchiladas, too! I combined instructions from the video with information from the recipe. I used rotisserie chicken which saved me the step of cooking chicken breasts. I tried charring the tortillas as instructed in the recipe, but it was difficult to do with the floppy tortillas. I found that browning them in a dry cast iron skillet was far easier. I also tore the tortillas into fourths, as instructed in the video, and I added some red sauce to the top of the dish before cooking. Guests added hot sauce, sour cream, onions, cilantro, jalapenos, olives, and avocado on top. This is a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Wow! We just finished this dish and it was delicious!! I followed a couple of other reviewers tips; I didn't char the tortillas, I boiled the chicken with garlic and cayenne pepper in the water, I mixed the chicken and sour cream before layering, and after the first bit of sauce I dipped the tortillas in the remaining sauce. It was super!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Sorry I've used so many recipes From here and loved Them but this was a complete disaster. I tried to take in all the tips and ugh, it was a messy soggy soupy mess. All went down the drain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Dent Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CK Cooks
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
It made a beautiful dish! I found that it was a little bland. Next time I will spice up the chicken with taco seasoning and add some fresh tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CK Cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States