Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Excellent recipe. I served this tonight for dinner and my family loved it. I used the entire 28 oz. of the green chile enchilada sauce and did not have a soupy casserole. Here's how I prepared this recipe: I used a 9x13 baking dish and greased it with Crisco. To save time, I used two boxes of Tyson's diced chicken breast meat located in the freezer section at the grocery store. I cooked the chicken breast meat in a skillet and used cooking shears to further cut up the diced chicken meat. I seasoned the chicken with garlic salt as instructed. I did not char my tortillas. I tore each tortilla into about 6 pieces. After placing 1/2" of sauce on the bottom of the baking dish, I placed the rest of the sauce into a pie plate to coat the remaining torn tortilla pieces as instructed. I did not pour any of the sauce onto the layers. I found that coating all the remaining torn tortilla pieces completely soaked up all the sauce. Maybe that is how I avoided a soupy casserole as others have experienced. I don't know that for sure though. I added the sour cream to the cooked chicken and mixed it up. I found the mixed chicken and sour cream mixture easier to spread than trying to spread sour cream on top of the chicken and shredded cheese. After baking, I let it sit for about 10 minutes before serving. I am delighted to have found this recipe. I hope you try it.I served this with spanish rice and warmed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
871 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Have made this twice - once following the recipe exactly, which I am rating three stars as it was bland and lacked significant flavor. Secondly, I would give it a five based on changes made to the recipe: 1.) Sauteed red and green bell pepper, white and red onion and fresh garlic together, then chopped the veggies in large pieces and added a handful of fresh cilantro. 2.) Parboiled the chicken in chicken stock, onion and garlic and then cut into mouth size pieces. 3.) Mixed the veggies in with the chicken and added a 4 ounce can of salsa verde. 4.) Added one packet of chicken taco seasonings, 2 teaspoons of cumin, and one small can of green chilis to the chicken/ veggie mix. 5.) Added the sour cream to the chicken/ veggie mixture to make spreading easier. 6.) Used 9 green chili corn tortillas and 9 chipolte corn tortillas in place of regular corn tortillas. 7.) Used a mix of Monterey and Pepper Jack cheese in lieu of straight Monterey Jack. 8.) Let it cook 30 minutes more than the recipe stated to avoid the soupiness other reviewers remarked on. 9.) Added another 1/2 cup of cheese during the last 30 minutes of cook time. Waited until the cheese started to bubble and brown! And a big plus - if you like freezing casseroles, this one is a perfect one to try as I couldn't tell the difference between the one I made and cooked the same day and the one I froze. Definitely a keeper and worthy of 5 stars with the listed alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
648 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This recipe is GREAT! I made this recipe twice. The first time I made it exactly the way the directions told me to except I did't char the tortillas, and it didn't turn out soupy or bland, It was perfect. The second time I charred the tortillas, and after cooking the tortilla's turned to mush. It was still yummy, but didn't look nice. So I think I just won't char the tortilla's next time. I would definitely mix the chicken with the sour cream like other reviews suggested. It is too hard to spread the sour cream over the cheese. My favorite mexican dish at restaurants is Enchiladas Verdes, and this recipe can hold it's own against the best Enchiladas Verdes I've ever had before. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
623 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOSTERKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Photo by Kimiko Proctor
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Delicious!! My husband and I liked this alot. He had 3 servings! This was so simple to make and clean up was minimal! So much quicker and easier than making enchiladas the old fashioned way. It wasn't runny, mushy, or "ugly looking" at all. I took the advice of other users and mixed the chicken with the sour cream before adding it to the dish. I also skipped the charring of the tortillas. I guess that's why the tortillas didn't turn out mushy. I added chopped green onions and it gave it some extra flavor. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing and will definitely be making this again!! UPDATE: It's been 2 years since my review. I add Mexican season or taco seasoning to the chicken & sour cream mixture. It makes it even more flavorful. Sometimes I make it with red sauce, sometimes green. Instead of baking the chicken, I boil it in a pot of water and add 1 clove of garlic to the water to give the chicken a little bit more flavor. I love this recipe so much. I make this for parties and friends. I have coworkers actually request that I make this for them sometimes. Try this recipe, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Oh My Goodness!!!! This was such a big hit! We had friends over for a Dinner/Game Night with a Mexican theme (b/c I am Hispanic) and EVERYONE LOVED THIS DISH!!! I am very bias when it comes to Mexican food, but I gave this one a try, and I'm so glad I did. I used both Medium Green Chili Sauce, and Mild Red Sauce. I also boiled the chicken with Garlic Salt (as suggested by others) and then shredded and added a dash of red pepper (cheyenne) to the chicken. And I also mixed it with the sour cream. I started with Green sauce on the bottom, and then alternated between the green and red. I also did not char the tortillas. I cut in 4th's. I cannot rave enough about the casserole. It was so yummy! And everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I Love this recipe! I made a couple of adjustments to make it work better for me. I grilled my chicken on my George Foreman and browned my tortilla's in a skillet on the stove. My husband asked me to add black olives. I used 20 oz of the chile sauce. It was absolutely wonderful. Thank you! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I began making this dish a few years ago. I add in lots of cilantro, a 1/2 TBSP of lemon juice, one jalapeno and blend it with the store bought green enchilada sauce for improved flavor. Alternately, you can make your own green enchilada sauce by simply boiling tomatillos (they look like green tomatoes - remove the skins first, wait until they become blistered and blend in blender). This is my most requested recipe at all social events. This is a must make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This is a quick and easy recipe. I used precooked chicken to save time that I just diced quickly. I put the 1/2 inch of sauce in the bottom of a greased 9x13 pan and then added whole tortillas that I dipped in the remaining enchilada sauce. I mixed the chicken and sour cream together and spread over the tortillas. On the final layer I poured the remaining sauce over the tortillas. I covered with foil and baked. I didn't add the cheese on top until the very end because I was afraid it would burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
YUMM!!! I added a packet of taco seasoning to the sour cream as was suggested, and it added great flavor. Instead of baking, I boiled a small chicken and shredded half of it. using the amt. of sour cream in the recipe, I ran out for the top layer and used more. That might be because I used a 9x13 casserole dish, but the rest of the ingredients were proportional. My picky hubby loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I was too hungry to bake the chicken so I cooked it on the stovetop. Since I was too hungry to let it cool before shredding the chicken, I chopped it up with my food chopper. I skipped the charring step since I don't have a gas stove but I tore tortillas into fourths as suggested. WOW! This recipe was great!! My fiance and I both loved it and almost finished the whole pan in one sitting. I'll definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States