Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was very good. I cooked the chicken breasts in the crock pot with pepper, garlic powder and garlic salt for 8 hours. It shredded very easily and had a great flavor. I ended up using 16 oz sour cream and mixed with the chicken. I covered the tortilla pieces in the enchilada sauce and layered in the pan. I also added a can of black beans, although I don't think it needed it and probably won't do that again. I got rave reviews and will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
The first time, I always make the recipe as stated and this one was just too bland for us and a little dry. Maybe we like spicy flavor more than most. Anyway, the simplicity of the ingredients made me try again with changes. I kept all of the same ingredients and only added 1 1/2 c. of cheddar cheese to the jack and a few Tablespoons of taco seasoning to the chicken. That made the recipe outstanding! So, I rated it 2 stars as stated but I really didn't need to make too many changes for our tastes. Also, the "torching" of the tortillas is a long, tedious process and tearing them up really does have the same effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Easy and Good....my family loves this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I love the flavor of this casserole...but I don't like how the corn torillas just turn to mush :( I will make this again, only I'll try using crushed corn tortilla chips instead of the corn tortillas. I would also recommend a shredded mexican blend cheese just to add a bit more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very easy to make, and tasty! I made the recipe twice, both times mixing the sour cream in with the chicken. The first time I used some green chile stew mix, because it was what I had on hand. Two ladies at work saw it, and asked for the recipe, which I gave them (telling them where I found it). One made it and said her family raved about it. I made it with red, mild enchilada sauce tonight, and it's still good. I put the chicken in the crockpot for the day to make it very easy to shred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is in the oven as I write. I'm sure it will taste fine. I may tweak in next time to make it spicier or use pablano peppers on another pepper to give it more kick. I did find this to be MESSY and LABOR INTENSIVE. About like Lasangna with all the layers. Definitely not a "quick" enchilada recipe like stated. I'll probably make it again but I think the old roll enchilada's and pour stuff over method may be easier. I took other reviewers advice and soaked the corn tortillas in the enchilada sauce and also combined the chicken with the sour cream. Still messy with having to rinse off between all the layers due to messy fingers. I hope it is worth it. It sure does smell good and my husband and I love Mexican cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
It was great! My picky 6 year old even had seconds!! It was a little soupy, I think next time I will use a little less enchilada sauce. I also didn't char the tortillas, and they weren't firm so next time I will grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
We loved it! Made a few changes but nothing significant - didn't put the sour cream in the layers nor did I char the tortillas. I made a 1/2 recipe because I was only cooking for 2 and it was more than enough for leftovers for lunch the next day which is always great. This had a good flavor, was very moist and heated up well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Our family loved this recipe! We mixed the chicken and sour cream to make the layering easier. We used 1/2 28 oz can hot enchilada sauce in the pan and to pre-soak the tortillas. We used most of a large size jar of 505 Mild Enchilada sauce for the layering in a 9x13 pan. This did not make it soupy or lengthen cooking time. Super tasty with just a little bite! Definitely a keeper for us! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I made this over the weekend for cinco de mayo. If I could give it another 1/2 star based on changes I made I would rate it a little better. There is nothing quick about the recipe but if I had bought a pre-cooked chicken that would have cut down on the time. Also, when charring the tortillas I had 3 burners going at once to save time. I parboiled the chicken in chicken stock, onion and garlic. After shredding I added garlic powder, salt, cayenne and taco seasoning as it would have been way too bland otherwise. I then added a small can of sliced olives and the sour cream to the chicken. Upon serving I put sour cream, spicy salsa, green onions and cilantro on top. The condiments really completed the dish. My husband and his friend kept going back for more servings so I knew it was good. I'm not much of a casserole girl but as far as casseroles go this is one I will make a couple times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States