Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is great and my husband loves it so much I am popular tonight! I cooked the chicken with taco mix on it to seal the flavor. I put New Mexican green chilis, green onions,cilantro, Rotel to spice it up and bush's pinto beans in the layers. I didn't have alot of shredded cheese on hand so I used velveeta too and also replaced some of the sour cream with Fage yogurt since I was short on sour cream:) It's 9 miles to the store so sometimes we have to improvise. I think this recipe is the bomb no matter replacements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Excellente! Definitely don't skip charring the tortillas. Adds a nice smokey flavor and keeps the tortillas from turning to mush. If you don't have a gas burner, cook the tortillas in hot oil in a skillet for a minute or so. I also added seasonings to the sour cream (cumin, red pepper flakes, cilantro, garlic) and mixed it with the chicken to make it easier to prep. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Wow! Let me start out by saying that I haven't found an enchilada recipe, white or red, that I like. Most are so incredibly bland & boring(even w/tweaking) & just not my thing. I loved this so much I ended up having seconds! I skipped the charring & added cheddar w/the monterey jack. I also followed some other reviewers & added a bit of taco seasoning w/the chicken mixture & mixed the chicken & sour cream together. I cut my tortillas smaller & only ended up using 2/3 of them. Doubled the recipe into 2 9x13 pans so we could have leftovers & I'm sooooo glad I did that!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe. As mentioned in other reviews, I mixed the chicken and the sour cream (along with some added cumin and paprika). It turned out fantastic! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fantastic recipe considering its simplicity! I made it tonight for the first time. I used all of the meat (minus the skin) from a charcoal cooked rotisserie chicken I bought from a fantastic restaurant around the corner from where I live. Also, I used a 16 oz jar of verde enchilada sauce with the remaining 12 oz (28 total for the sauce) from a jar of locally made green chile salsa. As others have suggested, I mixed the rotisserie chicken (which I hand shredded) with the sour cream and added a small amount of garlic salt. I cut the corn tortillas into quarters and applied everything evenly. It turned out fantastic. Granted, purchasing a quality rotisserie chicken for this recipe isn't the most cost effective method, but it sure turned out great! Edit: I almost forgot. I ended up coating the dish with some bacon fat I had leftover from making bacon fried rice the night before. It's definitely not healthy but added a tasty, bacony crispiness to the crust on the bottom and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This recipe turned out pretty well overall. I did make the mistake of using flour tortillas instead of corn so they were a little soggy after baking, definitely will use corn if I make this again. I also think that I will make the green chile sauce as well instead of buying the canned version. However, for a quick and easy meal the canned stuff works out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gramma
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The first time I made this recipe my husband and I really enjoyed it! I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made it for a larger group and changed it up a bit. Everyone loved it and now I'm on my third time making it! I use a rotissarie chicken that I purchase at the grocery store and just shred it. Then I add a sauted onion and a can of fire roasted mild green chile peppers. I don't char the torillas and only use 8 of them. Nor do I cover the casserole when it's in the oven. Great recipe, thanks SGRCOOK for the foundation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I'm afraid I thought this was too much work for so-so results. If I try it again I'll need to change it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This just did not work for me. The chicken tasted just boiled. But I also do not like chicken enchiladas in a restaurant - too dry. I had hoped this would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrbabe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My family loved this recipe! Being from Texas, we like things spicy so I added the taco seasoning mix and some chopped mild jalapenos to the chicken/sour cream mixture, and then added even more as garnish. Will definitely serve next time I have a crowd to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States