Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I tried this recipe just to try and how different it was from the one I had received from one of my Hispanic neighbors. First of all I made my own enchilada sauce. Second, after shredding my chicken, I heated up a pan of oil which I deep- fried my tortilla. After I finished deep frying, I took each tortilla and dipped it in my sauce and started layering my tortillas, filling each tortilla with Monterey Jack cheese and chicken. I love my sauce hot and because I had put cheese on my tortilla and chicken, i didn't put as much on top. I don't care for sour cream in my Mexican food when I cook so I totally ignored the ingredient. I then poured the balance of my sauce on top. Stuck it in the oven until the cheese melted. Made some Spanish rice. Meal was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is a huge favorite! I made a couple of changes. I would mix up the shredded chicken, sour cream, and put in a packet of taco seasoning....by mixing these ingredients together, makes it easier to spread. I also added tomatillo sauce and jalapenos. I would put sour cream, olives, and salsa on side for people to add on. Actually going to make it yet again this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzanne
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I served this to guests last night, and it was a hit. They said it was better than chicken enchiladas, and it's far easier and healthier than fixing enchiladas, too! I combined instructions from the video with information from the recipe. I used rotisserie chicken which saved me the step of cooking chicken breasts. I tried charring the tortillas as instructed in the recipe, but it was difficult to do with the floppy tortillas. I found that browning them in a dry cast iron skillet was far easier. I also tore the tortillas into fourths, as instructed in the video, and I added some red sauce to the top of the dish before cooking. Guests added hot sauce, sour cream, onions, cilantro, jalapenos, olives, and avocado on top. This is a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Wow! We just finished this dish and it was delicious!! I followed a couple of other reviewers tips; I didn't char the tortillas, I boiled the chicken with garlic and cayenne pepper in the water, I mixed the chicken and sour cream before layering, and after the first bit of sauce I dipped the tortillas in the remaining sauce. It was super!! Loved it so much I'm going to make it again and this time add black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
It was a messy soggy soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Dent Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CK Cooks
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
It made a beautiful dish! I found that it was a little bland. Next time I will spice up the chicken with taco seasoning and add some fresh tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CK Cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Great recipe, my family loved it! I couldn't find green chili enchilada sauce, so I used red sauce and added a can of chopped green chilies. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
OMG!! This recipe was SO GOOD!! And easy!! Since their are only two of us, I did make a few modifications but tried to stay as true to the recipe as possible. Instead of chicken breasts, I used the meat from a precooked rotisserie chicken instead and omitted the garlic salt. Tore 6 corn tortillas into quarters, used a 15 ounce can green chile enchilada sauce, used 8 ounce package shredded Monterrey Jack cheese, and 1/2 carton--4 ounces--sour cream. Followed recipe to layer ingredients and baked at same temp/time suggested. Again, could not have dreamed how good this would be! Thank you so much for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Delicious... family raved about it. I put my chicken breasts in the crockpot at lunch and then shredded it when I got home, popped the casserole in the oven and dinner was ready with ease. I followed the other reviews and mixed the chicken and sour cream before spreading over the tortillas. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States