Quick and Easy Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is by far the best goulash I have ever made, but here are some things I will change the next time I make it: First, the onions do not cook through that well when mixed with the sauce so I will fry them up with the hamburger, and change the cheese to mozzarella. Do add a ton of spices to your meat when frying it if you have a bland sauce. The corn makes this so yummy! Also, I used ground venison instead of hamburger (My husbands a hunter) and elbow macaroni. A+ super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
We love this recipe...with a few changes. Elbow noodles insted of egg noodles and I hate onion, so I use onion powder and garlic insted. Easy and basic...what more could you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I used to make almost this exact recipe when I was growing up... so I was happy to come across this one since I'd forgotten exactly what the ingredients were. My recipe was slightly different, though, so I adjusted this one to match it. Instead of egg noodles, I used spaghetti noodles. I added minced shallot and minced garlic while the meat was browning. To the sauce (I used a jar of maranara) and corn, I added garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasoning, dried basil leaves, minced rosemary, and salt to taste. After the noodles were cooked and drained, I put all of them in the bottom of a casserole dish and mixed about half the sauce in with them so they wouldn't stick together. Then I layered 1.5 cups of cheese over the top, then spread out the rest of the sauce over the cheese. I baked it at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I thought I was the only one to make goulash like this! I love this recipe and change it up some by adding Taco Seasoning mix with the ground beef. Gives it a lil kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
We're on a super tight budget this week so I made this and bent it to stretch to feed the four of us at least for two dinners (feedng one hungry husband, two hungry growing boys and one mother) and at LEAST one lunch. I used organic spaghetti sauce and I added one very large red pepper, one cup chopped fresh mushrooms and a mess of fresh garlic that I sauteed in olive oil before adding in the rest of the ingredients, as well as adding in one can drained petite diced tomatoes. I also threw in some dried basil and dried oregano. The boys and I really liked this and along with homemade dinner rolls, this made a filling meal that stretched very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I bit bland for my taste but a good base recipe to start with. I subtitute italian sausage for the ground beef. For the sauce. I use 2 cans of diced tomatoes (drained) and one can of tomato sauce. I let the sausage simmer with the sauce for 10 minutes or until it thickens. The diced tomatoes gives the dish texture and substance that it needs. I also added some fresh garlic. With these changes my husband LOVES this dish and its pretty simple and easy for me. I love those type of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Overall, this was a good basic goulash recipe. The flavor appeals to kids because it's not very strong, but next time I will probably cut back on the cheese a little bit for more of a tomato flavor and add some oregano and basil. It was quite good for the effort required! -Allison
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This was a great recipe- esp. since I am living overseas and many of the ingredients included in traditional recipes are hard to come by. It was quick, easy, and wonderfully tasty! I recommend topping it with some extra cheese on your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This was super yummy – I used some of the other suggestions and cooked the onions with the meat and added a bunch of seasonings to it. I also added a can of potatoes chopped up and some shredded carrots. My Very Picky 4 year old loved it – she thought it was spaghetti and didn’t even notice the extra veggies she was getting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States