Quick and Easy Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KristinPotPie
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe was so good when substituting the ground beef with Johnsonville ground Italian sausage! It reminded me of a recipe my grandmother used to make when I was growing up. I left out the cheese and let the family decide if they wanted to top their dish with it instead - I have some non-cheese eaters. I also pre-cooked the onion in a bit of olive oil before adding, browning the sausage in the same pan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinPotPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was really good and easy to make. My whole family liked it. We left the cheese out and made it our choice if we wanted cheese. I think that the serving size is a bit off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
It was great. I didn't have enough spaghetti sauce and it was still amazing! My boyfriend loved it and was like "Those leftovers are my lunch for work tomorrow!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very good! Looking for a recipe for "this kind" (vs. Hungarian) of goulash that my mother used to make us when I was a kid. My son is gluten free so I subbed Ancient Grains quinoa elbow noodles instead - first time I've used them and they were DELISH! I remembered mom's being less "Italian" so I used 2-14 oz cans of small diced tomatoes in juice instead of spaghetti sauce, and I used mozarella instead of cheddar. Added garlic, salt and pepper to taste. It was SO good! I like celery in mine so I sauteed some celery and put it in my serving, knowing my son might not eat it if he saw too many veggies. He loved it, and usually he won't try anything new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was the easiest meal to make...needed something new to do with ground beef and my kids didn't want meatloaf again...I made minor changes based on what i had..seasoned the meat with onion flakes, garlic powder, seasoned salt and pepper..used the spaghetti sauce and cheddar cheese with elbow macaroni..The only complaint my 6 year old had was the corn...he isn't a fan of corn in anything so i don't count that..would definitly make this again.. soooo easy, fast and good!! Glad i found this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaybubbles99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
So easy, even the kids could make it! We usually also add peas or a cup of mixed veggies. Extra paprika and a little brown sugar doesn't hurt to give it the more "goulash" flavor instead of the "Italian" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
We're on a super tight budget this week so I made this and bent it to stretch to feed the four of us at least for two dinners (feedng one hungry husband, two hungry growing boys and one mother) and at LEAST one lunch. I used organic spaghetti sauce and I added one very large red pepper, one cup chopped fresh mushrooms and a mess of fresh garlic that I sauteed in olive oil before adding in the rest of the ingredients, as well as adding in one can drained petite diced tomatoes. I also threw in some dried basil and dried oregano. The boys and I really liked this and along with homemade dinner rolls, this made a filling meal that stretched very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was really quick and easy! I didn't have an onion, so I just used a whole bunch of spices. I was skeptical, especially by its appearance, but it was really tasty with some hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Good- cut the meat down to 2/3lb. and added peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States