Quick and Easy Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I can't beleive I never thought of this before! I got fish sticks, the larger so called "filets" in a box not the little ones, on sale so I had extra in the freezer. I make homemade tartar sauce (with extra dillweed, pickle & the key is a few dashes of worstechire sauce) while the oven is preheating so it has time for the flavors to meld. Chop onions & cilantro, slice cabbage, slice "filets" width ways and put all on paper plates. I heat up corn tortillas on a pan and keep them wrapped in a towel on a small plate while chopping & cooking. We assemble as we eat them. Fresh squeezed lime is a must, and jalapenos if you like it spicy. We love to sit around and pork out on these with salt/lime rimmed Tecate. MMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used flour tortillas (not fried) and mixed store bought verde salsa with sour cream for the sauce. I also added some shredded cheddar. I never would have thought to put fish sticks in a taco but these are sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
So simple and so good. I used fish fillets instead of sticks and flour tortillas instead of corn. I also warmed the tortillas in the microwave instead of frying them. I wasn't sure my family would like them but they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I never had fish tacos before. I am glad I tried these. They are so good. I prefer them without the salsa. I used sourcream, lettuce, onions, and red cabbage. I also used gortons popcorn fish. Thank you for posting. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Excellent and easy! What a great taste. I used Essensia southwest salsa (an Albertsons brand) and homemade tartar sauce with low fat mayo and pickles. I found this because I had left over red cabbage and didn't know what to do with it. You do need to pan fry the tortillas (2 T. of oil worked for 2 tortillas), I tried microwaving them for less fat and it won't work (the tortillas split and fall apart).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I also omitted the tartar sauce and added cilantro- as for the salsa, I used a peach salsa, it was a little sweet and brought out the flavor of the fish. And i used taco shells to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Had been looking for recipes that helped w/my overabundance of fish sticks, and also for a good fish taco recipe. This met both. It is super easy. I make a pico de gallo by using diced tomato, red onion, cilantro and lime juice to serve with. I also mix sour cream w/ Lawry's Baja marinade to taste to put in the tacos. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I actually thought I had thought up the idea of using fish sticks for fish tacos and popped on allrecipies.com just to find advice on the sauce. Funny that I found this! I bought a coleslaw kit and just used the cabbage from that in my taco and tossed the dressing. I also added some chopped tomatoes on top and warmed the tortilla in the toaster oven. Very good and easy meal when you want something more "exotic."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was actually really good!!! My fiance doesnt really care for fish sticks, but even he liked these! The only change we made was using a chipotle mayo rather than the salsa mixture here. This will definately be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Was a perfect, easy meal for my husband to prepare for the 2 of us. He made a slaw of cabbage with red peppers, cilantro, onions, mango, lemon and salt. Opted for ranch dressing and added some Mexican hot sauce. Very nice quick meal. Will definitely make again. Deelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States