Quick and Easy Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Easy to make, I used flour tortillas because I hate frying anything in oil. Bake the fish sticks, spread some sour cream on the tortillas and microwave for 20 seconds, add 3 fish sticks, lettuce, salsa, lime juice (cilantro if you have it), and shredded cheese. Quick and fast cure for your fish taco craving. This may become a staple in my regular menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Pretty quick and easy for when I really have a fish taco craving. Use a better grade/quality fish stick. No tartar sauce though, try sour cream and salsa mixed together. And cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This is close to the way I like fish tacos, except the tartar sauce isn't what I'm used to. I like the spicy white sauce that our local fast food fish taco place uses. It is more sour cream based than mayonnaise based and has a lime and chile kick to it. This is a really easy recipe though and there are many ways to modify it to suit personal taste. Like flour tortillas, extra filling ingredients such as tomatoes and beans. Don't skip the cabbage though! Also, stick with high quality fish sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I can't beleive I never thought of this before! I got fish sticks, the larger so called "filets" in a box not the little ones, on sale so I had extra in the freezer. I make homemade tartar sauce (with extra dillweed, pickle & the key is a few dashes of worstechire sauce) while the oven is preheating so it has time for the flavors to meld. Chop onions & cilantro, slice cabbage, slice "filets" width ways and put all on paper plates. I heat up corn tortillas on a pan and keep them wrapped in a towel on a small plate while chopping & cooking. We assemble as we eat them. Fresh squeezed lime is a must, and jalapenos if you like it spicy. We love to sit around and pork out on these with salt/lime rimmed Tecate. MMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Giving this 5 stars for the brilliant idea. Used flour tortillas cuz that's what I had, and used Amy's Cilantro Cream sauce from this site isntead of the tartar. Added red onions, cuz we likie. So FREAKING GOOD and easy. My kids both ate the snot out of them w/ ranch instead of the sauce. Brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
this is the first time I have had fish tacos and these were really good, I also didn't really want tartar sauce with it so made a sour cream,lime and coriander sauce instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
These were so quick and easy it's unreal. I halved the batch due to a smaller crowd, and one was filling enough! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
What a GREAT idea! And as other's have said "why didn't I think of this?" I used beer batter filet's instead of fish sticks. I added some sour cream, lime juice, cumin, cayenne, and chili powder to the tartar sauce. They were really good and I will definitely be making these again. Thanks Chris!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used flour tortillas (not fried) and mixed store bought verde salsa with sour cream for the sauce. I also added some shredded cheddar. I never would have thought to put fish sticks in a taco but these are sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Yum! Used flour tortillas, (crisped in oven) beer battered tenders (quality counts!), shredded sharp chedder, cole slaw mix, and made a sauce out of tarter sauce, light sour cream, chopped cucumber, chopped tomato and fresh pepper. Served with a quick italian pasta salad. (rotini, italian dressing and peppers) ~ A quick, easy and satisfying change of pace. ~ Thanks for the idea! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

See how to turn tilapia filets into tasty marinated fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States