Quick and Easy Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I am giving these four stars with the understanding that you know the only things in it with much flavor are the salsa and the tartar sauce, so the quality of those will determine your outcome. I make my own of each and they are excellent :) Make yours at your own risk. I also added sour cream to the final tacos. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
These were so easy and good. I agree with the other poster, you need flavorful tarter sauce and salsa. I would also make sure to add some fresh avacados or guacamole. Black beans and sour cream also help to make this a little more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Webb-Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This is close to the way I like fish tacos, except the tartar sauce isn't what I'm used to. I like the spicy white sauce that our local fast food fish taco place uses. It is more sour cream based than mayonnaise based and has a lime and chile kick to it. This is a really easy recipe though and there are many ways to modify it to suit personal taste. Like flour tortillas, extra filling ingredients such as tomatoes and beans. Don't skip the cabbage though! Also, stick with high quality fish sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I never had fish tacos before. I am glad I tried these. They are so good. I prefer them without the salsa. I used sourcream, lettuce, onions, and red cabbage. I also used gortons popcorn fish. Thank you for posting. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Excellent and easy! What a great taste. I used Essensia southwest salsa (an Albertsons brand) and homemade tartar sauce with low fat mayo and pickles. I found this because I had left over red cabbage and didn't know what to do with it. You do need to pan fry the tortillas (2 T. of oil worked for 2 tortillas), I tried microwaving them for less fat and it won't work (the tortillas split and fall apart).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
this is the first time I have had fish tacos and these were really good, I also didn't really want tartar sauce with it so made a sour cream,lime and coriander sauce instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Pretty quick and easy for when I really have a fish taco craving. Use a better grade/quality fish stick. No tartar sauce though, try sour cream and salsa mixed together. And cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I also omitted the tartar sauce and added cilantro- as for the salsa, I used a peach salsa, it was a little sweet and brought out the flavor of the fish. And i used taco shells to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Delicious and oh so easy. My husband requested we have these once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
i love the recipie, but the fish sticks are so high in calorie, what else can i use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States