Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very simple and delicious.. followed recipe to a "t" will make again in the winter months to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was delicious!! I will definitely make it again. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I have just prepared this chowder in my crockpot but I did add some chopped red pepper, minced garlic, some bacon of course, & some Old Bay. WOW!!!! taste excellent & it isn't even ready yet. GREAT RECIPE-Definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup. I did make some changes after reading everyones reviews though and I feel they were well worth it. I used 4 cans minced clams, 2 cans clam chowder, 1 celery soup, and 1 potato soup can. I added minced garlic, old bay seasoning, sherry cooking wine, 1 small diced onion, salt, pepper, and a few chopped up petite red potatoes. I used the whole pint of heaving whipping cream but not all the half and half as I was afraid of it being runny. It turned out thick, creamy, and did NOT have that store bought taste others were mentioning. I think the must have ingredient was the sherry cooking wine, it made all the difference. Will definetly make this one again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is really great clam chowder. It's a little.. thick for my tastes, but I think next time I will just replace some of the cream with half and half. I did use 4 cans of the clams, and the clam flavor was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I like another reviewer grew up on the Oregon coast & my husband grew up in Boston...so I have a very finicky crew when it comes to chowder! I got this recipe about 2 years ago and have been making it with rave reviews ever since. EVERYBODY requests I make it! I have also made a couple of changes. I use 4 cans of the canned clams drained, 1 quart of 1/2 & 1/2, 1 can of corn, chop the simply potatoes red potatoes into smaller chunks and add 1-2 tsp of old bay!!!I thin it with a little milk if it needs it as it's cooking!! EXCELLENT...truly the best clam chowder ever..I used to crave legal seafood clam chowder, but no more:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Very good, and so easy! It was a little on the bland side- but this may be because I used low-sodium products. I also had to add cornstarch to thicken it up. Other than that it was yummy...rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Pfeifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was excellent and super easy!!! I doubled the amount of clam chowder soup and potato soup and added 4 cans of clams to this. It barely fit into my crock pot! I think next time I won't add as much cream to make it slightly thicker. But I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is a convenient recipe. there are some modifications that can be easily made to reduce the fat and calorie content. I used low fat cream of celery soup and low fat half and half. I also added celery and onion that I lightly sauteed in butter first. I also added the chopped red skin potatoes and extra clams, as indicated in other reviews. Based on what some of the other reviews said, I used two cans of cream of celery and one can of cream of onion soup to avoid the "store bought taste" created by the canned cream of potato and clam chowder. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was the best clam chowder I've ever made, according to my family. They loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding a little garlic salt and 2 diced potatoes. It was so simple to make and the taste was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Iowa, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States