Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I'm a transplant to AZ from the bay area ca I've been missing the fresh clam chowder in a bread bowl from the wharf. i made this tonight and oh my gosh it was just heavenly and so darn easy (next time i'll cut back the cream and half and half, as it was very rich) the best clam chowder Ive had since i moved to AZ will definitely be in my dinner rotation yum-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culinarylove1968

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My kids are picky eaters and this one is easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yermomica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this for my family last year during Lent, and I am doing so again tonight. It is essentially jazzing up and spreading out canned clam chowder--that's why it's quick and easy. This method also allows you lots of options for controlling the fat, calories, sodium, and/or additives content, something that neither a traditional cooking method NOR straight-up canned soup doesn't do. I start with a quart of fat-free half-and-half and a pint of cream and work with that. it's great. we also add potatoes for a chunkier texture and fuller meal. Oh, and as other posters noted, DO ADD WINE. or sherry. Something that's already open and in the fridge, even. It really brings the flavor up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
so creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! I had another crock pot clam chowder recipe that was HORRIBLE, so I was a bit worried about this one. We took it to our playgroup's family potluck and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline K. Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
It was okay...I had to add ALOT of other ingredients otherwise it would have been too bland. My dad is from Boston and is VERY picky about his clam chowder (he knows his clam chowder!) He ate it, but I didn't get any rave reviews...I will keep looking for an authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
OMG sooooo good!!!! I followed others suggestions and doubled the soup and clams. Tossed in some diced frozen potatoes and frozen celery, carrot and onion mixture as well. I also would recommend not using all of the half-and-half that will help it not be so thin and add a bit of cornstarch in water. People who have never eaten or LIKED clam chowder tried this and ended up asking me for the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This has quickly become a family favorite. I have shared with several friends who are now making for their families. Absolutely delicious. I did add extra potatoes to thicken. YUMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Easy quick delicious recipe. It has been cold here and it was nice to let the chowder simmer on the stove and then enjoy it for dinner. I did add more clams, 3 red skin potatoes, a small white onion diced amd my usual compliment of spices (cayenne pepper, black pepper, garlic powder, cajun seasoning and allspice.) Great also with some rye bread or oyster crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
wow.when i lived in washington and vacationed on the oregon coast, the trip wasnt complete without a trip to mo's for chowder and grilled oysters.YUM!!!this chowder isnt an exact copy but as close to the real thing as i can get.and so so easy.i have made this every week since i found this recipe.thank you!!!here is my take: 1 cream of celery 2 cream of potato 2 chunky clam chowder 4 cans of snows minced clams with their juice and a peeled cubed red potato, 1 diced celery stalk, and a handfull of onion.right before serving i throw in a bag of real bacon bits and top the bowl with sliced green onion.yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States