Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
excellent! My husband and son raved how good this was! they said it was restaurant quality. I only cooked it for 4 hours on low in the crockpot and came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Pretty good, but don't let it cook too long. Even on low temp. setting on my crock pot it seemed to change for the worse in flavor and consistency after a while. The first time I had a bowl I liked it. About an hour later it had totally changed and I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent clam chowder! I did follow the receipe that Deena, the original poster, added on Jan, 13th and it is wonderful! Will definitely make it again. Thank you, Deena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This a very good recipe. One trick I use to thicken any creamy recipie like this is to slowely add instant potatoes untill it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My family loves this soup - to make it even better I saute an onion, a few stalks of celery and some chopped red potatoes and then add the rest of the ingredients with the exception of the cream - instead I use a 12oz can of 2% evaporated milk to cut down on the fat. To speed up the process I make the soup on the stovetop not in a slow cooker - it's ready in 30 minutes. To keep the clams tender I add them last just to heat them up. Fantastic recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
It was AMAZING!! I followed the originators changes about adding another can of cream of potato soup and 2-3 cans of the new england and i added some ham left over from thanksgiving and a can of corn and it's wonderful. Definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was skeptical that this would be a success, however I had almost all the ingredients on hand so I went ahead with it. It is really good. I added more chopped clams, as we really like it clammy, and a couple of small potatoes cut into cubes. I also love dried thyme in my chowder so I added about 1 tsp. This was enjoyed by all, and comments were that it was the best chowder they'd had. :) I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
AWESOME!!!! can't say enough about this soup :)....we did a few different things like other reviewers said. 2 cans cream of celery, 2 cans cream of potato, 2 cans new england clam chowder, 4 cans chopped clams (2 drained 2 undrained), 1 whole chopped onion, 4 small new potatoes, 1 qt 1/2 and 1/2, 1 pint heavy cream, 1 tbs salt, 1 tbs pepper, 1 tbs garlic powder finish with chopped green onion garnish! excellent with a splash of fresh lemon juice at the end! makes a ton of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I had to tinker with the ingredients to get the consistency right. It turned out very good! For my soup, I also fried about 6 pieces of bacon, 1 onion and 3-4 cloves of garlic. I also added 3 stalks of chopped celery. I also diced 3 yukon gold potatoes. The original recipe uses WAY too much liquid. I had to add a lot of flour to balance it out. So, when I remake this, I'll do the following: Do the same with the bacon, onions, garlic, potatoes and celery; use 1 can of celery soup, 2 cans of potato soup, 2 cans of clam chowder, 5-6 cans of clams (with juice), and then add half/half and cream as needed to make it the right consistency - probably about a cup each
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. It was like drinking warm milk. It had no flavor and was very thin, and I only added about 1/3 the amount of half-and-half called for. I can not understand how it got such glowing reviews. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States