Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only modifications were diced red potatoes and 1 medium onion chopped. Threw it all in the crock for about 4 1/2 hours. Took it to the in-laws and my father-in-law ate 5 bowls. I did double the recipe and was able to feed my hungry father-in-law, husband, myself, and 3 hungry teenage boys. Even the teenagers told me how awesome it was. This is for sure a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I love this recipe and use it often. I do add two cans of New England Clam Chowder and three cans of minced clams. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I love this clam chowder! It's easy, has common ingredients, and tastes amazing! I've made just a few changes recently that I think made it even more incredible, though. Instead of minced clams, I used chopped and put three cans in. It's nice having the bigger chunks of clams. Like others, I doubled the canned soup amount and I think that makes it better, too. Thanks for posting this recipe, Deena! It's one of our household favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Burlington, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I read about how thin it was so I used 3 cans cream of potato soup, 3 cans clam chowder and half of the half and half suggested...I also used 3 cans minced clams (2 drained one not), small yellow onion sauteed with celery and a bit of garlic, a little butter, pepper, and parsley and although the taste is absolutely delicious it was still quite thin for my families liking so next time I think I will cut out the half and half all together and add some diced potatoes to thicken it up a little more. Side note: Although this has excellent flavor as is adding the sauteed onion, garlic and celery is what really makes this stand out from tasting kind of like all the other canned versions. Thank you for the super easy and excellent base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H3ATH3R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Good as eating out at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Fantastic - i am living in Texas but will always be a Yankee even though i've lived here almost 30 years - this recipe is the first one that reminds me of Boston's clam chowder - definitely delicious -- a 10 thank you so much for this excellent recipe and very easy to follow - definitely a keeper - I followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I wasn't sure of this recipe at first, because of all the canned ingredients, but it turned out very good! Everyone loved it and even went back for more. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was excellent and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Wasnt thrilled with all the canned stuff but went with it anyway-it was delicious! Took reviewers comments and chopped up some onion, celery and two potatoes (which I nuked for three min.), added two cans potato soup, 1 celery, 1 large thick of new england and three cans of clams with juice, this was mixed in a bowl overnight and dumped into my crock pot in the morning, I added about 1 and 1/2 cups of fat free half and half, some black pepper and left it. Stirred at lunch break and took top off when I got home for an hour to let it thicken up a little. It was great with garlic bread and we ate until we were stuffed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is the recipe my dad has used for years and years! It is my staple December birthday dinner! My dad said he got this recipe from a master chef friend in Seattle, WA and has closely guarded it from all family inquiries (except me)! I will say, some years are better than others. Must have to do with the clam harvest. If you try it and it's not absolutely wonderful, put away the recipe and try it again next winter. I'll say, 2010 was a great year! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States