Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is the recipe my dad has used for years and years! It is my staple December birthday dinner! My dad said he got this recipe from a master chef friend in Seattle, WA and has closely guarded it from all family inquiries (except me)! I will say, some years are better than others. Must have to do with the clam harvest. If you try it and it's not absolutely wonderful, put away the recipe and try it again next winter. I'll say, 2010 was a great year! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I've been making chowder this way for at least 15 years and my family loves it! I add cubed, cooked potatoes to the hot soup. If adding to cooled soup, make sure you chill the potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I am not a fan of clam chowder, but my family loves it. I make this for them every month or so and they like this reciep. I make it in a slow cooker on low for 4-6 hours. I took this to a pot luck and 6 people asked me for the recipe. That really says a lot right there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
excellent! My husband and son raved how good this was! they said it was restaurant quality. I only cooked it for 4 hours on low in the crockpot and came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Pretty good, but don't let it cook too long. Even on low temp. setting on my crock pot it seemed to change for the worse in flavor and consistency after a while. The first time I had a bowl I liked it. About an hour later it had totally changed and I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent clam chowder! I did follow the receipe that Deena, the original poster, added on Jan, 13th and it is wonderful! Will definitely make it again. Thank you, Deena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This a very good recipe. One trick I use to thicken any creamy recipie like this is to slowely add instant potatoes untill it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My family loves this soup - to make it even better I saute an onion, a few stalks of celery and some chopped red potatoes and then add the rest of the ingredients with the exception of the cream - instead I use a 12oz can of 2% evaporated milk to cut down on the fat. To speed up the process I make the soup on the stovetop not in a slow cooker - it's ready in 30 minutes. To keep the clams tender I add them last just to heat them up. Fantastic recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
It was AMAZING!! I followed the originators changes about adding another can of cream of potato soup and 2-3 cans of the new england and i added some ham left over from thanksgiving and a can of corn and it's wonderful. Definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was skeptical that this would be a success, however I had almost all the ingredients on hand so I went ahead with it. It is really good. I added more chopped clams, as we really like it clammy, and a couple of small potatoes cut into cubes. I also love dried thyme in my chowder so I added about 1 tsp. This was enjoyed by all, and comments were that it was the best chowder they'd had. :) I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States