Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this recipe just today and I have to say it was very easy. As per some suggestions I did add some cooking wine, salt , pepper, and some old bay seasoning as well as a tsp of basil (just because the clam can had a recipe for clam chowder and called for it). I like that you can throw it all in the crock pot and let it slow cook or if you're impatient can heat up on the stove and it cooks in about a half an hour. Thank you. I never think to use condensed soups to make an even better soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was amazing homemade chowder. Added a dash of hot sauce and some sourdough bread and enjoyed on a rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My son's favorite soup ever! Thanks for sharing the recipe Deena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made this for my family and it was awesome! As I was emptying the cans into the crock pot I thought... "This will not be good".... but it was good... real good. You should double up on it all to get a good amount for a gang and maybe use a bit less cream and whipping cream than it calls for... ALSO I took an extra can of clams and put it in my mini chopper till it was almost liquid... ***then I dumped that in and the flavor was sooooo much better... just a suggestion...*** I will make this all the time now.... it's great with portuguese pops!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nims11
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I use straight heavy cream and no half and half. You can also trade out the cans of clam chowder with cream of chicken, substitute chopped rotesseri chicken for the clams and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I have made this recipe plenty of times over the years. We HAVE to double it in my house... I decided to rate it just because it deserves 5 stars!!! Awesome, awesome, awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Made this recipe least year for our annual Low Country Boil. I thought it would be a good appetizer, something to keep everyone satisfied while we finished up the boil (we always do the vegetables separate, then the sausages, then the seafood for those vegetarians and no shellfish folks. Little did I know this soup would be the hit. I made double and there was none left. I had a New Englander among the guests and he said it was better than what he had at home. He thought I made it from scratch. Like everybody else, I tweaked a bit, not using the heavy cream and using 2 1/2 qts fat free half and half (for the doubled recipe). Doubled the clams and used all the juice. Still won raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherriRBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made this for work and everyone enjoyed it and asked me to make it again. I did fry some bacon and browned onions in the pan then added the rest of the ingredients along with some clam juice. Very good as written also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My 12 year old daughter makes this. We add evaporated milk instead of the cream and 3 cans of undrained clams, garlic, pepper, onions sauteed in butter, sherry and a splash of hot sauce and Old Bay. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was fantastic, although I wouldn't call it quick. My modifications: I used 2 cans each of potato soup and clam chowder, and 4 cans of clams - 2 cans minced and 2 cans chopped - and I drained all the cans of clams. Also, I used a pint of half and half and a pint of whipping cream and the thickness was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Daley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States