Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is a convenient recipe. there are some modifications that can be easily made to reduce the fat and calorie content. I used low fat cream of celery soup and low fat half and half. I also added celery and onion that I lightly sauteed in butter first. I also added the chopped red skin potatoes and extra clams, as indicated in other reviews. Based on what some of the other reviews said, I used two cans of cream of celery and one can of cream of onion soup to avoid the "store bought taste" created by the canned cream of potato and clam chowder. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was the best clam chowder I've ever made, according to my family. They loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding a little garlic salt and 2 diced potatoes. It was so simple to make and the taste was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Iowa, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I was nervous when I made this soup..seemed too easy to be good, but I was amazed how delicious it was. I served it to my friends from the Maritimes and they said it was better than their family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Thank You! This is my go to recipe for clam chowder. I do add the bacon, onion, celery and diced potatoes, but this is a great start! I keep a extra can of everything on hand always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LENEE1030
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is the best clam chowder I've ever tasted. My family absolutely loves it. I make it with extra clams as some others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Clayton Handley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Armada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This recipe is absolutely the best clam chowder I have ever made. Quick and easy really describes it. The few alterations I made: added cooked bacon, sauteed celery and onions and used all half and half - Thickened with dried potato flakes. Be careful if you double the recipe - it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very good. I followed the advice and added extra soups and clams. Next time I will add shrimp, sea legs, etc and make a seafood chowder. Yum! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe was easy and tasted mediocre. I will probably try it again without the canned New England clam chowder. It tasted a bit "canned" and I didn't like the texture of the potatoes in the canned soup along with my own chopped red potatoes. (The fresh potatoes were much better and made the other canned potatoes stand out.) We ate it with sourdough bread which made all the difference. My kids liked it. My husband and I thought it was just alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is amazing. I was pretty skeptical of how a bunch of cans could taste just like clam chowder I've had in fancy Boston restaurants, but it really does work! I made it overnight one night while my in-laws were visiting, and we had it for lunch several days. They loved it! I added one large potato, cut into bite-sized pieces. I also did not drain either cans of clams -- I dumped them both in, juice and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this at my cafe and my health inspector ate 2 bowls of it! My customers loved it! It is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVCOOKINTN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States