Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I am the original poster of this recipe and since posting this I, too, have made some changes to thicken the soup up. I now 2 to 3 cans of New England Clam Chowder and 2 to 3 cans of Cream of Potato soup. I also add 4 cans of the minced clams. This is still the best Clam Chowder I have ever tasted!!!! Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
Living on the Oregon Coast you would think that there is good clam chowder here? Anyone heard of Moe's? This is even better than Moe's!! This recipe is the BEST that I have had in YEARS and YEARS. Talk about easy and cheap. I used fresh clams out of the Yaquina Bay that we dug. Since there is not a lot of juice I added about 1/4 cup of clam juice (sold in stores with tuna), half an onion, 2 small potatoes, 1t of ground cumin, and cooked for 9 hours. I used the heaven sent Wondra flour product to thicken to our liking! THANK YOU for such a GREAT recipe! Everyone should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I served this to my family on Christmas Eve and received rave reviews! I doubled the recipe and cooked it in my crockpot on high for 2 hours and then on low for 3 hours. I used 5 small cans of chopped clams with all the juice, 1 qt. half & half and 1 pt. of heavy whipping cream, 2 bags of precooked, chopped red skin potatoes, 1/4 cup chopped onion and also added approximately 1/3 cup of good sherry wine right before serving. Decadent!!! Thanks Deena for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I just made this super simple chowder and took the advice of some of the other reviews. Added more potatoes and used the fat free version of soups and used 1 pint of fat free half and half and 1/2 pint regular whipping cream. It came out very creamy. I didn't let it cook all day either only until the potatoes were tender. Although I'm not a connoisseur of clam chowder, I thought this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
In a word... "Phenominal"! My two sons and husband love clam chowder. They have had many bowls in many different restaurants and insist this recipe is among the best they've ever tasted. I made some adjustments to the original recipe. I added 3 cans of clams, but the chowder could have used at least one more can. I also substituted 2 cups of heave cream for the 1/2 and 1/2. I also cut up 5 red new potatoes. Thick, creamy and absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAGHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Took this to my boat club meeting tonight, and for the first time ever, my dish was all eaten up, and lo and behold, people asked me for the recipe! That's such a great feeling. A real judge asked me if there was some liquor in the recipe, and I whispered that yes, I had used some sherry, as someone earlier had suggested. He danced about and insisted that I bring the recipe to the next meeting...So, a squirt of sherry will not hurt, especially if you are entertaining judges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This is very good - although I did get a chuckle out of the title. Yes - this is quick & easy to prepare but it takes ALL DAY TO COOK! Maybe not so quick? :)) I added a larger can of clam chowder and used 1/2 the amt of half and half. It is very good but I think it tastes very "store-bought" (for lack of a better description). Some white wine might add more depth or I should have heeded others advice about adding some potatoes or perhaps even some shredded carrots for color. Overall - a very good recipe but I think it needs some playing around with to make it "perfect."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I find it pathetic that you're using canned clam chowder as a part of this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This was excellent! Thick and Creamy!! I used 2-20oz cans of whole clams and 1-6oz can of chopped clams including all the juice. I also added a whole bag of O'brian potatoes (frozen) which also gave the chowder some color from the red and green peppers. I seasoned it a little with Bookbinders seasoning. This is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
As per some of the other reviews I read here, I added 2 cubed/peeled potatoes, an extra can of minced clams, 3 stalks of celery chopped, and a small onion diced. This was absolutely wonderful! Everyone in my house loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScullyKel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States