Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
AWESOME!!!! can't say enough about this soup :)....we did a few different things like other reviewers said. 2 cans cream of celery, 2 cans cream of potato, 2 cans new england clam chowder, 4 cans chopped clams (2 drained 2 undrained), 1 whole chopped onion, 4 small new potatoes, 1 qt 1/2 and 1/2, 1 pint heavy cream, 1 tbs salt, 1 tbs pepper, 1 tbs garlic powder finish with chopped green onion garnish! excellent with a splash of fresh lemon juice at the end! makes a ton of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I had to tinker with the ingredients to get the consistency right. It turned out very good! For my soup, I also fried about 6 pieces of bacon, 1 onion and 3-4 cloves of garlic. I also added 3 stalks of chopped celery. I also diced 3 yukon gold potatoes. The original recipe uses WAY too much liquid. I had to add a lot of flour to balance it out. So, when I remake this, I'll do the following: Do the same with the bacon, onions, garlic, potatoes and celery; use 1 can of celery soup, 2 cans of potato soup, 2 cans of clam chowder, 5-6 cans of clams (with juice), and then add half/half and cream as needed to make it the right consistency - probably about a cup each
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. It was like drinking warm milk. It had no flavor and was very thin, and I only added about 1/3 the amount of half-and-half called for. I can not understand how it got such glowing reviews. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Wasn't too impressed with this, it made a lot and even my husband, who loves clam chowder, didn't really care for it. Tastes like canned clam chowder, but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I'm a transplant to AZ from the bay area ca I've been missing the fresh clam chowder in a bread bowl from the wharf. i made this tonight and oh my gosh it was just heavenly and so darn easy (next time i'll cut back the cream and half and half, as it was very rich) the best clam chowder Ive had since i moved to AZ will definitely be in my dinner rotation yum-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culinarylove1968

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My kids are picky eaters and this one is easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yermomica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this for my family last year during Lent, and I am doing so again tonight. It is essentially jazzing up and spreading out canned clam chowder--that's why it's quick and easy. This method also allows you lots of options for controlling the fat, calories, sodium, and/or additives content, something that neither a traditional cooking method NOR straight-up canned soup doesn't do. I start with a quart of fat-free half-and-half and a pint of cream and work with that. it's great. we also add potatoes for a chunkier texture and fuller meal. Oh, and as other posters noted, DO ADD WINE. or sherry. Something that's already open and in the fridge, even. It really brings the flavor up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
so creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! I had another crock pot clam chowder recipe that was HORRIBLE, so I was a bit worried about this one. We took it to our playgroup's family potluck and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
It was okay...I had to add ALOT of other ingredients otherwise it would have been too bland. My dad is from Boston and is VERY picky about his clam chowder (he knows his clam chowder!) He ate it, but I didn't get any rave reviews...I will keep looking for an authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States