Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
How is this "quick" if it needs to cook for 6-8 hours ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Good but a little bland and runny. I'll thicken it and add some spices and maybe some fresh vegetables (potato, celery, and onion) next time. But, it was super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Amazing! As I was pouring all of the condensed soups into the crockpot this morning, I was actually very nervous about making this recipe and how it would turn out. However, I didn't need to worry as this tastes just like the clam chowder you can get at Red Lobster and I didn't have to leave my apartment to get it! I took the suggestions of the original recipe poster and added two of the potato/New England soups but then I also took the suggestion of other reviewers by adding 3 celery stalks, 3 baby red potatoes, and I used 3 cans of minced clams but I didn't drain any of the juice. I also used 1 cup of half and half and 1/2 cup of the heavy whipping cream since I scaled down the serving size. It is 35 degrees and sleeting here in Michigan today and this is just what I needed, I will be keeping this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eboehnlein_629

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Yummy and EASY! Did I mention how EASY it is? We've had it three times this month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was very good and easy to make. I did it on the stove and let it simmer for 45mins. I also added chopped carrots and potatoes and sautéed a chopped onion in 3 tbsp of butter and added a little white wine and fresh cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I will never make another clam chowder. This is, hands down, the simplest, best-tasting chowder I've ever made, and it sure beats the over-thick glop you too frequently get at restaurants. This is thick but not too thick, creamy, fragrant, and all over just wonderful. I followed KRISSTINA's advice. Yes, you purists, I altered the recipe to suit me, but the basics are the same. Like Krisstina I added 2 small, diced potatoes, a teaspoon of cumin, and a little bit of onion, about 2 tablespoons of dehydrated onion flakes, which equals about 1/4 cup chopped fresh onion. Threw a stalk of celery in the food processor and chopped it fine and added that too. Based on all the other reviews, I increased the clams to three 10.75 oz cans of whole clams. I drained only two of the cans--that little bit of clam juice from the third can adds desirable flavor. The texture, flavor, creaminess, and fragrance of this chowder cannot be beat. I know I will make it again and again. Thank you to the person who posted this! Oh yes, I assembled it on a Sunday night and put it on low on the slow cooker next morning for 9 hours before leaving for work. It was ready when I walked in the door and it was perfectly blended and cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
ADD MORE CLAMS AND POTATOES. TOO THIN AS WRITTEN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is a darned good clam chowder. I used 4 small cans of clams (plus the juice of 3), 2 cans potato soup, 1 can celery soup, and one can of bumble bee clam chowder mixer. I also used only one pint of heavy whipping cream. Threw in two healthy handfuls of roughly chopped new potatoes and 1/2 a chopped onion. About 1 and a half tsp of white pepper and a toasted bread bowl did the trick. Double YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this recipe just today and I have to say it was very easy. As per some suggestions I did add some cooking wine, salt , pepper, and some old bay seasoning as well as a tsp of basil (just because the clam can had a recipe for clam chowder and called for it). I like that you can throw it all in the crock pot and let it slow cook or if you're impatient can heat up on the stove and it cooks in about a half an hour. Thank you. I never think to use condensed soups to make an even better soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was amazing homemade chowder. Added a dash of hot sauce and some sourdough bread and enjoyed on a rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States