Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
In a word, WONDERLICIOUS! I knocked this recipe out of the park on my first try. Here's what I did (and what you should do too): in melted butter, sauté 2 minced garlic cloves, 1 cup chopped onion, 1 cup chopped celery, and 1 cup sliced carrots. Meanwhile, chop 1/2 pound uncooked boneless, skinless chicken breast into bite-size pieces. Add chicken, the broth, basil, oregano, salt, garlic pepper, a dash or two of poultry seasoning, and a pinch or two of dried thyme to the pot of veggies. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer 20 minutes. Meanwhile, cook 3 cups egg noodles according to package directions in a separate pot. Add drained noodles to chicken and veggies, simmer an additional 10 minutes. Only if you want some creaminess, go ahead and add a half can of condensed cream of whatever soup (whatever flavor you choose). Voilà! A SIX-star chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Vincenza...I could kiss you for this recipe. My 15 month old and I had a bad flu and she refused to eat any soup from the can. I was ill and at my wits end and found this recipe. I had all ingredients in the house (except for celery) and whipped this together. I didn't have the vegetable broth and had to improvise with some chicken broth granules to make all the necessary broth. I cubed raw chicken and boiled it in the soup to save time. I also added garlic. I made egg noodles on the side and added it as we ate it so the soup wouldn't get starchy. This soup was not only easy but AMAZING! Probably the best chicken soup I've eaten. UPDATE: I'm still eating this on a regular weekly basis. I make a batch almost weekly and it freezes excellent (if you don't add pasta to it until you're ready to serve). I now ALWAYS use vegetable broth as I really feel it adds to the flavor. I sautee the celery, onions and carrots along with garlic to soften them up. I also buy a rotisserie chicken and use the whole thing to make a huge batch of this soup. I triple all veggies and my 20 month old daughter eats the veggies out of the soup by the handful! This freezes REALLY well if you don't add pasta until you're ready to serve. This is a definite keeper and is still the best homemade chicken soup I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1597 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
GREAT recipe! A few changes I made are...I sauteed the carrots along with the onion (they end up more tender), I didn't use any veg broth but all homemade chicken broth (it's richer), I added minced garlic along with the othe veggies that cook in the butter, and I doubled the noodles (this made it more a chicken & noodles dish but it was delish!). This is a great way to usue a rotisserie (sp?) chicken on the second day. I really really recommend this recipe! I also freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1008 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is so easy to make and so good! I cook the chicken breasts in the broth to make the broth a bit richer, then build the soup from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I used all chicken broth (part homemade & part store bought broth in the box) Used fresh basil and fresh oregano from my garden and threw in some dried herbes de provence(an incredibly versatile herb mixture)Sauteed the sliced carrots with the onion and celery. Made the recipe for 8 and that made generous servings for 6 people. Everyone had 2 bowls. Delicious. Served with big green salad, rolls, fresh fruit and brownies for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe only adding 6 cloves of minced garlic. I used homemade chicken broth/vegetable broth and I used the "No Yolks" egg noodles. After tasting it, I did increase the basil and oregano. This was quick to make and quite comforting for someone who's been sick for what seems like ages. Next time, I'll increase both the onion and celery as I like a chunkier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
My friend told me last week that I needed to check out this web site. So I did and join the same day. Today my daughter was sick when she got up. I got on the web site to find a chicken soup recipe and found a lot of them. This one is so easy to fix and that's what I was looking for. My daughter is not a good eater and when your sick your really don't feel like eating. She has had 2 bowls now. My husband and I also loved it. I did put 1 cup of celery, onion, and carrots. It was so rich and hearty. Thank you for this submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Excellent chicken noodle soup recipe. Very easy and has a homemade taste. I did not cook the chicken first. I simmered it in the broth with the vegetables for more flavor. Used frozen egg noodles and added garlic. Also added two cans of condensed cream of chicken soup for a creamier soup. I would recommend tasting it before adding salt, it may not be necessary to add salt if not using low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was the first homemade chicken noodle soup I ever made. It is VERY GOOD! I was expecting something different than the way it turned out, but it is delicious all the same. I did nearly doubly the noodles and I doubled the veggies. The only problem I had was that the noodles lost their spiral shape when the soup was done--they cooked too long. I may cook them separately next time. I have to say...while I am sure there are better recipes out there somewhere, this one is quick, cheap, and easy! And as another reviewer said, it makes me not want to buy another canned chicken noodles soup again. And I don't think that I will unless I have to! I really like this! Good and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This soup was loaded with flavor. I made the 6 serving recipie and my family was begging for more. I would definitely at least double it! Very quick and easy. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States