Quick and Easy Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
made this tonight added can of tomatoe sauce and a can of diced tomatoes and some garlic salt. served with sour cream and grated cheese was yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was really tasty. It was also very easy to make with very little clean up. I used shredded rotisserie chicken and did NOT drain liquid from the cans. We served it with shredded cheese, tortilla chips and sour cream. I have two small children who love to help cook and this was a good recipe for them because they got to empty a lot of cans and stir (their favorite things).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I don't think it is fair to make a bunch of changes to a recipe and then give it a bad review, which I have seen on here. I did make some changes, but I disregarded them when considering the review. Made this in the slow cooker. Since I don't like hominy, I didn't have any, but used suggestion of another reviewer and added fat-free refried beans. Used black beans, homemade chicken broth instead of water, and Tostitos Restaurant Style Salsa. I did rinse and drain the canned vegetables to reduce the sodium, and used additional broth. After it was almost done, I tasted and added additional cumin, a little pepper, some garlic, and some salt. Served with Golden Flake Maizetos Tortilla chips and grated cheese. My husband had sour cream on his, and we both loved it. Would like to have given this 4.5 stars. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was so easy to prepare yet no one would ever know it was practically as simple as opening a few cans/jars. I didn't have any hominy on hand so I used one can of whole kernel corn and one can of corn with chipotle (Green Giant) and salsa with white corn & black beans (Great Value brand from Walmart). I also used the already grilled, frozen chicken strips (Foster Farms). I followed the advice of other reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water. My family loved it so I will be making it time & time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Bland. It needs more spice. Perhaps some sliced roasted jalapenos and garlic. Oh - and a little bit of salt would be a big boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very hearty and easy meal for a Winter's night! I used double the hominy instead of corn, and chicken broth instead of water. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I make this often and we love it! Easy and healthy!! The only way my husband and I will eat beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I have this simmering on the stove right now. I was looking for a recipe to use chicken and salsa and this recipe came up. I made some substitutions to use what I had on hand. I didn't have hominy or kidney beans or the canned corn. So I used a can of creamed corn, a can of pinto beans and can of black eyed peas and to I replaced the hominy with a can of fat free, spicy refried beans. The refrieds really seems to make it thick and hearty. I used a can of chicken broth instead of water. I cooked the chicken half way in my convection toaster oven. Then I dumped all the ingredients in the pot added the chicken and am simmering it until the chicken is completely cooked. I tasted it just now and its SUPERB! I didn't add any of the spices. I figured between the salsa (mine is of the mild variety) and the spicy refried beans it didn't need any more spices. I was looking for a recipe to use up some things I've had for awhile and wanted to get rid of. I also took a pouch of pizza crust mix and shaped it into bread stix and baked them to serve with the Chili. Yummy! Been taste testing this a little too much, lol. My husband going to go crazy over this. Will be making this again and maybe experiment with different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We don't care for the spicy stuff, so I only added 1 T of Chili powder. Others can add more at the table. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
left out the cumin just because I didn't have any and used two cans of shredded chicken. I didn't drain any of my items and so I decided to not add the water, as there was plenty of liquid. Only used 6 ounces of salsa and used yellow hominey because its what I had on hand. Very good and very easy to make. And only has 5 pts plus values per cup, for those doing weight watchers! This will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States