Quick and Easy Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
1c sugar and 3c flour with a little almond extract. It was good but super cakey in a 9x13 pan. Next time I will follow other suggestions and use a jelly roll pan and double the pie feeling. I made it with half the pan cherry and the other half blueberry. It was good, but will be perfect with the suggested changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadeWithLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I've made this same recipe since I was a kid. I used to make it weekly for Sunday morning coffee at church for my mom to take. It was always a hit! Tweak the recipe a little by putting 2/3rds the batter on the bottom of a jelly roll pan, not 9x13. Then smear on the cherry pie filling. With the rest of the batter drop random spoonfuls all over the top of the pie filling. Do not spread out. As it bakes it will spread leaving beautiful sections of cherry peaking out. When cooked drizzle with a powdered sugar glaze. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IowaAmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for, same taste as my mother used to make. They turn out beautiful when you really swirl the top batter with the fruit filling. Also awesome with lemon pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Easy and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Hubby says best dessert ever. Made exactly as stated. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great recipe, and I agree with previous review of using 3 c. flour, and the almond extract - 1/2 to 1 tsp. I also used 2 cans of cherry pie filling (premium if you can find it, since it has more cherries). The glaze that I use is 1/2 c. powered sugar, 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract, 1/4 tsp almond extract, and 1 Tbsp. milk - then drizzle over the top. This recipe is also great with ice cream. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Schleicher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori McInerney
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
The batter for these bars is thick so "spreading" the top layer over the cherries was almost challenging for me. They came out pretty I thought. The texture is more like a coffee cake than bars in my opinion so for me this begs for a buckle type topping with toasted almonds for a bit of crunch. I am not a big fan of canned cherries but certainly could have used another fruit pie filling. These were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McInerney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Just like my Mom's Cherry Squares. My mom added on can of sour cherries, drained, to the cherry pie filling. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Made this for Labor Day Weekend, quick, simple,easy and delicious - MUST TRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was very easy to make! Baked for 50 min and it was perfect! Next time I will try it with whole wheat flour and Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States