Quick and Easy Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I thought this was a great simple quick bread recipe. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used 1 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cups of cheese. I also added a package of italian dressing mix and decreased the salt to about 1/4 teaspoon. I thought it was great. My bread didn't crumble like other reviews had trouble with. The crust was crisp, but the bread was soft and fluffy. I will keep this recipe on hand the next time I was some fresh bread in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I made this bread to go with some potato soup, and it was the perfect accompanyment. I took the advise of some other reviewers and increased the amount of cheese to 1 1/2 cups and the milk to 1 cup. I also sprinkled some garlic powder and a touch of cayenne into the batter. 1/4 cup of sugar seemed like a lot for a savory bread so I cut it to 2 tablespoons. Next time I'll cut it to 1 since it was still a little too sweet. After baking for 20 minutes, I sprinkled about another 1/2 cup of cheese on the top of the loaf, then continued baking. We all enjoyed this very much with our soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I made this recipe twice using a parmesan-mozzarella mix instead of Cheddar, and it turned out great! Then, I decided to try a carrot variety by replacing the cheese with 1 cup finely grated carrot, doubling the amount of salt and adding 1 teaspoon spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, whatever you like) and it was AWESOME! A big hit with my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This is "good." My daughter in particular liked this bread but it was a little too dense for my tastes. Per other recommendations, I used 1c milk, 1 1/4c sharp cheddar cheese, added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and added some Italian seasonings (apprx 1 tsp). I also added 1/4c parmesan cheese. It took a little longer to bake - the top started to brown b4 the middle was done so after 30 min, I reduced the oven temp to 375 and baked for an additional 10 minutes. The bread had a great crust while the middle was nice and soft. Although it was good, like I said, just a little too dense for me. If you like cornbread type breads, you'd probally enjoy this recipe. My daughter and boyfriend sure did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This was ok. I used 1 cup of milk so the bread would be less crumbly. I suggest using sharp shredded cheddar because the mild cheddar wasn't strong enough to add flavor to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
This bread was a hit with both me and my husband. I've had requests to make some and send it to work for his co-workers. A little on the sweet side...you might decrease the amount of sugar by one or two tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I gave it 5 stars all around. It is a good recipe for what it is, a quick bread. Next time I might double the recipe or use a smaller loaf pan. The bread was kind of short. Still, very good and very fast. Thanks Inari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Was easy to assemble but overall, not a stand out recipe. Try adding a little garlic or onion powder to give the bread a less baking soda/powdery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This recipe crumbled very easily - I wouldn't recommend it for soups. I'm going to add more cheese next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
This is really good bread. Cut down the sugar to 1/8 cup and used half cheddar and half Monterey Jack. The consistency is similar to cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States