Quick and Easy Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I thought this was a great simple quick bread recipe. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used 1 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cups of cheese. I also added a package of italian dressing mix and decreased the salt to about 1/4 teaspoon. I thought it was great. My bread didn't crumble like other reviews had trouble with. The crust was crisp, but the bread was soft and fluffy. I will keep this recipe on hand the next time I was some fresh bread in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I made this bread to go with some potato soup, and it was the perfect accompanyment. I took the advise of some other reviewers and increased the amount of cheese to 1 1/2 cups and the milk to 1 cup. I also sprinkled some garlic powder and a touch of cayenne into the batter. 1/4 cup of sugar seemed like a lot for a savory bread so I cut it to 2 tablespoons. Next time I'll cut it to 1 since it was still a little too sweet. After baking for 20 minutes, I sprinkled about another 1/2 cup of cheese on the top of the loaf, then continued baking. We all enjoyed this very much with our soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I made this recipe twice using a parmesan-mozzarella mix instead of Cheddar, and it turned out great! Then, I decided to try a carrot variety by replacing the cheese with 1 cup finely grated carrot, doubling the amount of salt and adding 1 teaspoon spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, whatever you like) and it was AWESOME! A big hit with my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This was ok. I used 1 cup of milk so the bread would be less crumbly. I suggest using sharp shredded cheddar because the mild cheddar wasn't strong enough to add flavor to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This is "good." My daughter in particular liked this bread but it was a little too dense for my tastes. Per other recommendations, I used 1c milk, 1 1/4c sharp cheddar cheese, added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and added some Italian seasonings (apprx 1 tsp). I also added 1/4c parmesan cheese. It took a little longer to bake - the top started to brown b4 the middle was done so after 30 min, I reduced the oven temp to 375 and baked for an additional 10 minutes. The bread had a great crust while the middle was nice and soft. Although it was good, like I said, just a little too dense for me. If you like cornbread type breads, you'd probally enjoy this recipe. My daughter and boyfriend sure did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
This bread was a hit with both me and my husband. I've had requests to make some and send it to work for his co-workers. A little on the sweet side...you might decrease the amount of sugar by one or two tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I gave it 5 stars all around. It is a good recipe for what it is, a quick bread. Next time I might double the recipe or use a smaller loaf pan. The bread was kind of short. Still, very good and very fast. Thanks Inari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Was easy to assemble but overall, not a stand out recipe. Try adding a little garlic or onion powder to give the bread a less baking soda/powdery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This recipe crumbled very easily - I wouldn't recommend it for soups. I'm going to add more cheese next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
This is really good bread. Cut down the sugar to 1/8 cup and used half cheddar and half Monterey Jack. The consistency is similar to cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States