Quick and Easy Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This isn't so much bread as a giant tasty biscuit. I approve. No fuss, no rising or kneading required. Fast and yummy. I just made bacon, potato and leek soup and this is a perfect accompaniment. Changes I made: I used jalapeño cheddar cheese and a Swedish cheese from Ikea that I didn't care for on it's own. I reduced the oil and sugar and added a little more flour. Also, I put a pan of water in the oven to make it extra crunchy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I loved this. I was searching for something quick and easy and this fit the bill perfectly. I used a dark 9 in round pan and took it out a few minutes before the timer went off (I did the toothpick test). Aside from adding garlic powder and onion powder, I didn't change/sub anything. My husband loved it, LOVED it. The consistency wasn't too flaky at all. I served it with a pasta sauce and used it to sop up all the sauce. This made a good dinner, great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terryo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Simple, fast and perfect texture. There is nothing else to say, this recipe is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This bread is deeeelicious! Since the person who submitted the recipe mentioned that it was a bit crumbly, I added extra olive oil. Just played it by ear but it may have been about 1/2 cup. It went great with chili, and stay moist and edible for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is a good, quick and easy recipe. It's inexpensive to make, too. I modified it a little, using ideas of my own and some I got from other reviewers: I eliminated the sugar and replaced the oil with apple sauce to make it low fat. I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. I used extra sharp cheese (you can use more cheese to make it cheesier). I added 1/4 cup of jalapenos (you can use more or less jalapenos depending on how hot you want it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
A good soda bread; I used 2/3 cup Gorgonzola and 1/3 cup cream cheese, cubed, instead of cheddar and it was nice; reduce the salt if doing this, though. I also used the spiced olive oil that cubes of feta are canned in instead of vegetable oil. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
We had this tonight with the Black Bean Vegetable Soup from this site. We loved it. As per others' reviews, I added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, doubled the cheese, increased the milk to 1 cup and decreased the sugar to 1 T. I sprinkled a little shredded cheese on top for decoration a few minutes before it was done. The bread was perfect at 35 minutes. This bread was dense and moist, not crumbly at all. The whole loaf was gone in one sitting. I'll be making again soon! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I added about a tsp of garlic powder, increased to milk to 1 cup, decreased the sugar to 3 tbsp. and used 1 and 3/4 cup of cheese. The only cheese I had on hand was a "Mexican mix" of colby, cheddar, mozz, and monterrey jack. My 4 yo daughter said "This is better than Pizza Hut!" Very good garlic cheese bread. (I gave it 4 stars since I modified it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This bread is very easy and looks pretty, but I wasn't a huge fan of the flavor. It's a strage combination of sweet and sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttakwup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This had a weird taste to me, I'll try anther recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovialj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States