Quick and Easy Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Quick and Easy as promised. My cheese loving little guy thought it was too sweet and I agree so for the next loaf I'll use less or leave out the sugar completely. I added Parmesan cheese (1/4 cup), dried mustard(1 tsp) and dried garlic with parsley (1/2 tsp-Morton brand) to the dough to up the flavor a bit. Great with chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I only gave it 4 stars because you have to alter the recipe itself for it to come out great. Add 1 & 1/2 cup of cheese 1 cup of milk pinch of sugar It was so good and it didn't crumble at all like some people were saying. When it only had 5 mins left in cooking I took someone else's idea and sprinkled cheese on top. My one year old son loved it and it was soft for him to eat since not all of his teeth have come in yet. It doesn't need topping or butter just eat it as it is! YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
i agree with some of the last reviews to cut the sugar a bit. i did find it a bit sweet for a cheese bread recipe. i added a splash more milk as it seemed to be a bit dry and about 2 cups of grated marble cheese and it turned out great. huge hit with my kids and hubby. this recipe is a keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Made this a few nights ago as a substitute for cornbread to go along with chili. It worked splendidly! Same consistency without the gritty-ness of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I took this out of the oven about 1/2 an hour ago and have been waiting patiently for it to settle, it smells so good!! I followed other reviewers advice and increased milk to 1 cup, decreased sugar to 2 tbs, added 1 tbs garlic powder and 1 tbs onion powder, some chopped green onions, and 2 tbs Italian seasoning (the same one I use in pasta sauce recipes), and sprinkled some cheese on top for the last 10 mins of baking time. I also had to turn the heat way down for the last 10 mins or so, as the outside had a beautiful crust, but the inside was still mushy. Came out beautifully! Savory and cheesy, with a crisp thick crust and soft delicious inside. I agree that it's not the best "bread" recipe ever, but an excellent quick and hearty accompaniment bread. We'll have this with a light chicken salad for dinner tonight. Thanks for the basic recipe, I'm sure you could do all sorts of variations with this recipe, next time I think I'll try parmesean, basil and sundried tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
A good 'base' recipe and I made some changes too including upping the cheese to 1 1/2 cups, upping the milk to 1 cup, cutting the sugar to 1TB and cutting the baking powder to 2teaspoons. But very yummy and will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I also was glad to have read the comments (thanks dianemwj!!)and modified it by increasing the cheese to 1 1/2 c. and the milk to 1 c, only putting in 1 Tb sugar, adding garlic and onion powder plus a dash of cayenne pepper and adding 1/2 c more cheese on top part way through baking. I used a mixture of mild cheddar and parmesan and romano. It was phenomenal! If I had made it according to the actual recipe I probably wouldn't have liked it as it would be way too sweet. I once made a Tastefully Simple beer bread mix with garlic and cheddar added to it but did not like it because it was too sweet. I imagine that would be how this bread would taste. I didn't want a crumbly texture as we were having it with soup. It turned out nice and moist and flavorful...I wanted to eat the whole loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by medelamom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
It had no flavor. i don't know what happened, but it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This came out very good. I made modifications based on personal preferences as well as recommendations. I used 1 cup unsweetened soy milk because we're not milk drinkers and this is what I have on hand. I've never had any problems with this substitution in baked goods. Decreased sugar to 1 heaping tablespoon. Added about 1/2 teaspoon onion powder into the dry ingredients, 2 heaping teaspoons minced garlic into the wet ingredients, and put in about 3-4 tablespoons total fresh chopped herbs (Italian flat leaf parsley and marjoram from my garden), increased total cheese to 1.5 cups, 1/2 cup of freshly grated Parmesan. I think the finished product is pretty darn good. When I make it again I would increase the salt to at least a teaspoon, it could definitely use some more. It's definitely not too sweet with the heaping tablespoon of sugar; what's called for in the original recipe would be way too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is pretty good, but has WAY too much sugar. I would go with other reviewers and scale it down to 1 T. at the MOST. Otherwise it kinda has a sweet taste to it, which seems a little odd for a cheese bread. Also, I added extra cheese as per other reviews, and I quadrupled the recipe to make for the bread co-op I am in. To the quadrupled batch, I added 1 1/2 T. garlic powder (I think I might try 2 T. next time, it needed a little bit more) and 4 t. Italian seasoning. I might try upping that amount too next time just a tad. I also liked someone else's suggestion of cubing the cheese to put in. But definitely agree to add MORE cheese than calls for. I rated it 4 stars, because with the above adjustments, I think it would be a 4-star recipe, maybe even a 5-star :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States