Quick and Easy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I only used 1 cup of flour, as other reviewers suggested, and they came out better than I expected! Very yummy, and not cake-y, just what you would expect brownies to turn out like. I added some peanut butter chips cuz I like PB brownies. So good! This was the first time I've made brownies from scratch, and I'll use this recipe next time I make them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
967 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Great recipe!!! I did decrease the flour to 1 cup as suggested by someone else which makes them less cake like and more like I personally like my brownies. I then added 1 cup coconut flakes and 1/2 cup chopped pecans... Can you say "German Chocolate Cake Brownies"? Delicious. Thanks for a great recipe even though I get carried away and change recipes up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I made these while standing and chatting with a friend, and couldn't believe how fast they came together. (Couple beers had skewed my sense of time passage...) The taste is incredible. Made exactly as stated minus the nuts--boyfriend is allergic. No frosting needed! Sprinkled powdered sugar on top, more for looks than anything else. Everyone loved them. Just had one, couple days later, and they are still NOMMY! Update: Made these again with 'help' from my 5 year old. Still super tasty! Just wanted to add that I used about 1/4 c margarine and 3/4 light butter with canola oil, did not notice a change in taste or texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
As I sit here eating my third brownie from this recipe, I'm listing all that I love about it: cake-like texture, brownie flavour, very chocolately, very easy, and I love the fact that it uses cocoa rather than chocolate squares. (I ALWAYS have cocoa!) I used a 9x9 inch stone baking dish and baked for exactly 30 minutes. Truly delicious! I will use this recipe again, for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was my first attempt at making brownies and I must have used the wrong kind of pan (stainless steel) because they were burning at 15 minutes! Literally my fire alarms were set off! I took them out, opened windows to vent the smoke and managed to salvage half of them which were delicious. Next time I will try a glass pyrex dish instead to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Wonderful! I took another reviewer's advice and only used one cup of flour. I also cut the butter in half and substitued 1/2 cup applesauce for the remaining butter. Because of the applesauce, the cooking time was longer - 45 minutes for me - but these are moist and delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
45 minutes from start to finish, including the baking! What a wonderful recipe! Great for drop-in company. No icing is necessary. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This recipe lives up to it's name! We did not have a mix, so I thought I would give it a try. I hate the mess of melting chocolate (other recipes) and I had cocoa powder on hand. Also, I used chocolate chips instead of nuts. They turned out SUPER and I am making them again for a party. They are still fudgy and chewy the next day (keep covered). Great warm with ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I added 1 cup chocolate chips and swirled 1/2 cup caramel sauce though the mix after adding to the pan. I also reduced the flour to 1 cup. Too much flour will give them a cake-like consistency. These brownies turned out pretty good but since I had to alter the recipe somewhat, I give it a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Brownies tasted Great, but I tried baking them in a smaller pan as some said they did... took much too long to cook, well over 1 hour. :( So much for a quick tasty desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaLynne5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States