Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I followed the core recipe, except I made a couple adjustments. I cut down to two pieces of bacon, used a little olive oil, added a green pepper with the onion, 3 cups of chicken broth instead of 2, 1 can of water, 2 garlic cloves instead of 3, immersion blender (as mentioned in another review), and as little corn starch at the end to thicken it up a bit. AMAZING. A little bit of rice in the bowl then added the soup....delicious! Next time, I will take out 1/2 or 1/3 the beans before I use the immersion blender, then replace the beans into the soup puree. That way there's a little more bean texture. Great recipe nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Prentice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Just before finished. I blended a 1/4 of the soup to help thicken and added one tbls Balsemic. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The flavor in this soup surprised me for the ease. I made 1/2 recipe to try it and it did yield the suggested servings. I dislike cooking bacon, so I just used 1-2 tsp of real bacon bits sauteed in some olive oil. I left out the cayenne, because I dont care for it in most recipes along with just a sprinkle of black pepper. I mixed my broth from reduced sodium vegetable paste. To save time I boiled it 5 minutes, then let it sit 2-3 minutes. I realized I forgot the water. I ended up only adding 1/2 of it at the end. I didnt want the soup to thin by that point. We topped with sour cream, chili paste, and a little 4 blend cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have to agree with the other reviews. This was easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie Lawler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was really easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I wiped away the bacon grease after cooking the bacon and before adding other ingredients (personal preference). I did not make the relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Wow wow wow!!! This was awesome! I doubled the recipe but didn't double the bacon (I just didn't have it). I substituted chix broth for the water (so used 4 cans broth for a double recipe, and no water). I used low sodium beans. The bacon was unappealingly floating around so I used the immersion blender instead of a masher, and I made it quite smooth. I didn't make the relish but I did serve it with green onions and a big dollop of plain Greek yogurt. I can't believe how delicious this soup was! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this today using my pre-made and frozen black beans I cooked from scratch. This was delish! I live alone so I liked this recipe because it was easy to halve. I was using up some chicken stock so I only needed about 2 TBLS of the water and I did not have a fresh lime so I substituted 1-1/2 T of lime juice concentrate, and I did not have green onions so I eliminated them from the garnish. This is a keeper since most ingredients are on hand in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
great. double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was very good & easy I made a few changes but it was very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States