Quick and Easy 20-Minute Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This may not be authentic, but it sure is good! Even my 2 year old ate this up. Only changes I made were to use a cooked chicken and added a can of diced tomatoes with diced green chili's. Topped with shredded monteray jack. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treeskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I used cilantro in place of oregano (didn't have any) and I added about 1 TBSP of Chili Powder. It turned out great! We added the Chili Powder because the broth had an odd look to it with white chicken, white hominy, clear chicken broth and green chilis (kind of a green cast). My son didn't like the look, so I added chili powder -- he loved it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
ok this is excellent. no matter if it is a posole or not, it is great. i did make a few changes, 1. used 27 oz of pinto beans instead of hominy, 2. used 4 fresh chopped jalapenos instead of green chiles, 3. 1, 10 oz can of green enchilada saucein place of 1 can of chicken broth. made it twice in one week. oh yes, i used 10 chicken tenderloins instead of the breast also .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Finally got around to tasting this last night, two days after I made it. Very good soup. I think waiting to taste it also helped the flavors to come together. Topped with a dollop of sour cream. Sort of a white chili but different. Liked the addition of hominey (yellow instead of white). Added a bit more chicken, chicken broth, cumin and salt and a can of green chile enchilada sauce. When I added the enchilada sauce, it went from good/O.K. to great. Also a friend took the leftovers and mixed in a can of tomatoes with green chiles and added cilantro, cooked it down and served with rice. Very good and easy soup. Used frozen chopped onion as a timesaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
With a few additons this is really good!!! Never had posole before looked up an accurate recipe and its made with pork or pig ears. I threw everything in crockpot didnt saute nothin. Didnt use oil. Used 6 pieces of chicken,legs and thighs. I pulled the skin off first and boiled it in water for my chicken broth. Added one half squeezed lime, added minced garlic, used cilantro instead of oregano. Added salt and extra cumin. Put crock pot on high came back 5 hours later pulled meat off of bones threw back in. Sitting here eating a bowl that was left over from last nite. Its pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I thought this was great. I shredded already cooked chicken meat from a deli chicken and threw everything into the crock pot and set it on low for a few hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Great recipe. Quick and surprisingly good given the short cooking time. I was looking for a more traditional posole, so I made a few changes: omitted the green chiles and olives, added about 1/3 of a can of red enchilada sauce, and topped with chopped cabbage and radishes. This is most definitely a make-again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was so good and super easy. I added a can of pinto beans to make it a little more substantial, and my husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
very easy and very good. My husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
One of my husband's favorite meals. It's very yummy:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States