Quick and Creamy Pasta Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Very yummy! Slightly time consuming but well worth the extra effort! I added shredded grilled chicken to mine as well which was a nice added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made this the other night...can't stop thinking about it. Ten stars. Followed exactly. This stuff is no joke. Will probably have to make it again in a couple days:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Delicious but it does take a long time. I also added pepper to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I found this recipe with not much in the house to cook and craving pasta. I did not find it time-consuming to cook as others have commented. I had to substitute the Parmesan cheese for shredded "pizza" 5 cheese blend and bacon for ham. It came out super tasty. I'd say a mix b/c spaghetti carbonara and alfredo sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
The flavor was great, but what I couldn't get out of my head (or mouth) was the film that the bacon grease left. Sadly these leftovers weren't touched again, a sure sign that it was only an adequate dinner. If somebody had made this for me I would have been completely satisfied, but no way will I bother putting the time and effort in to make it myself again. Altogether tasty but not perfected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was a last minute dinner attempt after my original dinner tanked. VERY simple which I appreciated. I did not have ham or peas, what I did was throw in a good amount steamed broccoli. I also added a good amount fresh ground pepper. I sprinkled fresh parmesan over each portion before serving. The boys and I inhaled this. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Eliminated the ham, used more bacon and put some red pepper flakes in for ooomph, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Not bad, and it doesn't take a long time if you use already cooked and crumbled bacon, which is what I did. I don't think I could handle the bacon grease it calls for personally, but that's me. I fully expected this recipe to have eggs; since it doesn't, I suppose it's more of an Alfredo sauce, but it's not bad. Hubs and I had for a quick lunch. I added red peppers in place of peas since we didn't have any and used tri color rotini and penne since that is what we have. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This would have been much better if I had drained the bacon grease. I should have gone with my gut and done that. Then I would have just softened the garlic in the butter. This is an easy way to make a last minute dinner, and it is kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Delish-- As I rule I don't rate or comment on a recipe if I make changes to it but in this case will make the exception.This to me was a marriage of an Alfredo and a carbonara with the bacon. I was looking for something different to make for dinner. I had leftover tortellini salad I wanted to use up and together they worked well. My tortellini salad had a little fresh basil and parsley, a few pine nuts, red and yellow peppers, pepper flake and artichoke hearts. The vinagrette was very mild but it added a touch of brightness to the dish to cut through some of the fat.I did drain some of the bacon fat as there was enough fat in the cream cheese and the extra olive oil from the dressing. I followed the recipe exactly until the point I added the pasta where I substituted the tortellini salad. I warmed the cold pasta salad in the sauce and added cooked bacon and cheese as directed. I did not have any ham and eliminated the peas as well. The artichoke hearts and peppers were there for sweetness and color instead. The changes made were out of desire to use existing product but the actual sauce was as written. I have made again as written and I do cut out some of the bacon fat and add just a touch of red pepper flakes depending on who is home for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States