Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great recipe...followed it exactly except I left out one tablespoon of milk because I wanted it a little stiffer for piping..tasted amazing and held it's form well..don't ever use store bought icing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was a great recipe for a fluffier, creamy buttercream. It does, however, need salt. Most buttercreams call for some salt and this was too sweet without it. I multiplied this recipe 6.5 times for 55 cupcakes (had lots leftover) and added about 1 tsp of salt and cut the milk in half. It had a great flavor and was the right consistency for piping cupcakes. I did put them in the fridge to set a bit before serving as it was a bit soft. There were lots of compliments and most people ate more than one. Will definitely use again. Will probably add food coloring before milk, and may use a little less milk than I did, for a slightly thicker result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I love it my kids keep asking for me more.It was so creamy and fluffy. It looks like they only want the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I used whipping cream instead of milk but otherwise followed the directions. It was great! A light icing that was great on white cake. And easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Absolutely the BEST buttercream frosting! I added maple extract instead of the vanilla to gv it a mapley taste.... Almond extract would be yummy too! I will DEF use this again! Added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing this with every one I love this recipe it turned out perfect I will defently be using this for my main frosting.I will be saving money now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
great recipe and tastes really good, just a little too sweet for my tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Midway, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very fluffy and quite delicious! Must say this is probably the best buttercream frosting I've ever made. I did use salted butter because that is what I had on hand, but I would have added a bit of salt anyway because I always use a pinch just to tone down the sweetness. Many thanks for this outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I felt like this was the first buttercream I've made that I actually liked! It is like the kind of frosting you get from the grocery store birthday cakes (meaning it's super sweet and crusts after piping), but that's what I was expecting, and the flavor was wonderful! I would definitely use this as my go-to buttercream recipe. No changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
To die for! This is only the second time I've made icing from scratch. Omigoodness! So very tasty! The guys loved it! Definitely will make again and again. It was a bit too stiff for piping (I'm not experienced so I put the icing in the bag, and I just couldn't squeeze it out). Saved it for a few days later. Brought it to room temperature. Added a couple more tablespoons of heavy cream. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Zagaja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States