Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Great! And everyone else is using the other buttercream recipe, complaining about the shortening... They should've used this recipe first! I added a handful of chopped cherries and extra powdered sugar to compensate for the moisture from the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Amazing! I didn't have any milk on hand so I substituted 2T of pineapple juice instead. Gave it a slightly tropical flavor. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
My husband liked it. However, I think it just tastes like a stick of butter with a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made this icing for a giant Mother's Day sugar cookie for my mum and she loved it. I used SALTED butter, let it sit at room temperature until just soft enough to work with but not too mushy, followed the directions exactly, and it was PERFECT! Light, fluffy, not at all grainy or too sweet. Just. Right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great recipe, thanks! Took me all these years to find this kind of frosting. I always thought cream cheese frosting was the way to go and also always failed at it -- like soup, melting, too sweet, various methods to try and fix it. Sigh. Anyway, for this recipe, I only used a teaspoon of extract. To compensate, I added a tad bit of vanilla sugar. Also, didn't have a sifter so ran powdered sugar through small metal strainer with spoon. Oops yeah, I also doubled the butter to 1 cup. Turned out perfectly! My daughter and her school friends scarfed them down. I am STILL trying to resist the very few leftovers. :) Generously covered 24 cupcakes by doubling butter and it was gorgeous, very professional frosting like. p.s Only put 4 stars because I had to change it to really love it. Good basics though -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Madelaine Yee-Lee
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was so well received! I doubled the recipe just fine to frost 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelaine Yee-Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Very good icing and perfect to pipe on cupcakes. The consistency was just right to pipe easily but hold its shape once on the cupcake. As others have said, a single recipe is barely enough for 9-10 cupcakes so adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I love this frosting! It taste so good and is still easy to decorate with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Needed a bit more milk, but pipes out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KirstenL528
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Delicious and easy to work with! My first time piping cupcakes turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States