Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Creamy and fluffy frosting, yet still perfect for piping/decorating. One recipe, however, was barely enough to frost ten cupcakes, so keep this in mind for any of your frosting or decorating needs. I used this for coconut cupcakes, so I flavored it with some coconut oil flavoring, then topped with toasted, shredded coconut. I would call this one of the more exceptional buttercream frosting recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a great buttercream icing recipe. I followed it fairly closely, thought I did add extra vanilla, which then necessitated adding some extra 10X sugar to make up for the extra liquid. It does not make all that much, so I will prob double it when decorating a cake. It made enough for me to not-over-generously ice 18 cupcakes. Great taste and consistency. GO BULLDOGS! ;) TY for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
awesome frosting. easy to decorate with. the only changes i made was that i melted the butter and added 2/3 cup of cocoa to make the frosting a chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This icing recipe is my absolute favorite out of all that I've tried! I used it to pipe on decorations for my daughter's horse birthday cake. I needed to add almost 2/3 cup more powdered sugar to make it stiff enough to pipe on. To decorate a 9x13" cake, you will want to double the recipe. (Make sure you use clear vanilla if you want white icing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This icing was just what I was looking for as I didnt really want to take the time to do boiling icing. Not too too sweet but very creamy. I will use this again. Alot of flavorings can be added to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe is for REAL frosting not the garbage that comes from the store. I followed the recipe without changes. This was served with SCOTTLEY'S BASIC YELLOW CAKE and the filling from ALMOND CREAM-PUFF RING. My brother ate two pieces and took half of the rest of the cake home with him. I will never buy frosting again ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is so much better than store-bought icing! Just be sure to use real butter; it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SizzleCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I'm a novice cake decorator and this is the first time I've ever in my life reviewed a recipe, but I was so overjoyed I had to do it. I have been trying buttercream recipes for 4 months now, and it's been horrible. I wanted something that did not include the nasty shortening, and was easy to make. I didn't have any luck with any meringue buttercreams either, which just tasted like a big block of butter and requires refrigeration, re-whipping, etc. I was THRILLED to find this recipe! First I made the initial recipe as written, which was a small batch. Then I quadrupled the recipe to make 32 servings to frost/decorate a 9 x 13 layer cake. I found that it's EXTREMELY important to cream the softened butter for several minutes first, then I added the confectioners sugar (after sifting it first) a cup at a time until combined. Then added clear vanilla extract, and for the 4x recipe I only used 1 Tbsp skim milk. Then really important: continue to beat for another 4 minutes! Came out SO fluffy and light and snow white colored. Extremely easy to frost and pipe decorations. Got a nice crust as well. I had several "foodies" taste it and they gave it 2 thumbs up as well. THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was the lightest fluffiest frosting I have ever made at home. It was as good as the bakeries use for sure! I used this for soft sugar cookies and it made them over-the-top great, but truly this would fabulous on a cake. I will have to remember this one the next time I need birthday cake frosting, this is that special. This dried perfectly for stacking decorated cookies too! Thanks, this is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
this is a great recipe. i used it after i covered my cake with another recipe that really didnt work at all. this is the right consistency. you should put in the refrigerator before using so its hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States